Tag Archives: personal independence payments

Baroness Thomas writes… Getting Personal Independence Payments right

This afternoon the Department of Work and Pensions announces a significant change on the new Personal Independent Payments following significant Lib Dem pressure. Celia Thomas, the Lib Dem peer who has campaigned tirelessly on the issue, explains why it’s a major win.

Getting the rules governing Personal Independence Payments right is vital. The new benefit, which will begin to replace Disability Living Allowance later this year, will have a huge effect on disabled people up and down the country.

I’m broadly in favour of the change to PIP, which seeks to clarify the eligibility of disabled people to this benefit, the purpose …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , , and | 15 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarDenis Mollison 27th May - 8:30am
    Stephen - to get a lib den bird attached to your name like this you need to be registered as a member with LDV, and...
  • User AvatarMichele 27th May - 8:30am
    How about a sentence to summarise what a lib dem queens speech would represent? A sentence that sets the agenda rather than adds to it?
  • User AvatarAlistair 27th May - 8:19am
    A bill to prevent rail companies running overcrowded services from limiting space on their services by restricting areas as first class.
  • User Avatarpeter tyzack 27th May - 8:13am
    certainly not a 'broken rudder'.. and if there is 'no confusion in the voter's mind' then only one way it got there. That is our...
  • User AvatarCaron Lindsay 27th May - 8:11am
    How can anyone possibly say with confidence that we would have retained 30-40 seats if Nick hadn't been leader? There is no certainty that would...
  • User AvatarJohnTilley 27th May - 8:01am
    ".... We have confidence that history will be much kinder to him but we’re not there yet." That may be your wish, Caron. Unfortunately for...
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015