Tag Archives: phil dilks

Election law snippets

MPs who suffer mental health problems will benefit from the government’s decision to back a Bill going through Parliament:

The Deputy Prime Minister announced that the Government is backing the Mental Health (Discrimination) Bill brought forward by Gavin Barwell MP, which receives Second Reading in the House of Commons today.

The Bill repeals section 141 of the Mental Health Act, which sets out that an MP automatically loses their seat if detained under the Act for more than six months. It also amends similar discriminatory provisions in legislation concerning

Posted in Election law | Also tagged , , and | 10 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarMatthew Huntbach 3rd Jul - 1:18pm
    Psi “Thatcherism is now so obviously out of steam and off the rails that, as you say, we desperately need a new economic theory to...
  • User AvatarMatthew Huntbach 3rd Jul - 1:11pm
    MrWallace Something lib dems seem to be incapable of understanding is that you cannot restrict the voters choice. We understand it very much, that is...
  • User AvatarGeorge Potter 3rd Jul - 1:11pm
    This is a great speech and one I've heard him give before in the form of a lecture at my university - this is obviously...
  • User AvatarMatthew Huntbach 3rd Jul - 1:06pm
    Gordon The voters view is clear: they are ANGRY with the ‘Westminster bubble’ for not representing their interests; the Lib Dems are not excused and...
  • User AvatarMatthew Huntbach 3rd Jul - 12:54pm
    Little Jackie Paper That was the official line and, of course, that was sensible. That said I took the line about, ‘add heart to a...
  • User AvatarSue S 3rd Jul - 12:23pm
    Brilliant article. Welcome to "we".
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015