Tag Archives: plan c

Opinion: It’s the economy stupid

The announcement on Friday that the UK economy contracted again in the last quarter of 2012 offers a damaging blow to the Government, and our leadership in particular, who have rightly and continually reaffirmed during this parliament that generating economic growth is by far their greatest priority.

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged and | 32 Comments

Clegg’s economic gear shift must be driven by Plan C

With the UK’s double-dip recession biting harder than previously thought, growing unease at the economy’s failure to recover appears to have elicited something of a change of emphasis at the heart of government. If Nick Clegg’s Financial Times interview (£) signifies a genuine change of direction in economic policy, and it would be welcome if so, we should ask in which direction we’re now facing. The Social Liberal Forum recently published Plan C, our approach to achieving a fair, sustainable economy, so it pays to benchmark Clegg’s call to “shift up a gear” against the values

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , and | 13 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarMichael Hall 2nd Jul - 8:58am
    Norman "Why not enable government to provide new housing on public land at market rents, while using the returns to invest in more affordable housing?"...
  • User AvatarPrue Bray 2nd Jul - 8:57am
    I for one am fed up with fellow Lib Dems shooting at other fellow Lib Dems. We all have far more in common than drives...
  • User AvatarNick Tregoning 2nd Jul - 8:55am
    Good article Caron. If Catherine's concerns are lightweight, then I'm also a lightweight, and so are very many of my friends and family. Why does...
  • User AvatarIan Sanderson (RM3) 2nd Jul - 8:32am
    @Eddie Sammon 'I thought Sammy O’Neill was a man?' Me, I've had an open mind about Sammy's gender. In my great-grandfather's time, Sam or Sammy...
  • User AvatarIan Sanderson (RM3) 2nd Jul - 8:27am
    @Sammy @Caron Couldn't also be the concern of Jeanne Tarrant, LibDem Pastoral Care Officer? I realise dealing with such issues is a very delicate matter...
  • User AvatarCaron Lindsay 2nd Jul - 7:57am
    @Sammy: On the one hand the party is incredibly sexist as I have found first hand- I don’t know any female lib dem members who...
Thu 2nd Jul 2015
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015