Tag Archives: political and constitutional reform

Job shares for MPs?

reformIt seems that journalists in the national media now make time to read Liberal Democrat policy consultation papers, even before they are discussed at Conference.

Following the Mail’s rant about the so-called ‘jewelry tax‘ (from the Tax Policy consultation paper), we now have a more reasoned appraisal by the Guardian of one of the proposals in the consultation paper on Political and Constitutional Reform.

This major consultation is very wide ranging, and begins thus:

Our recent policy on constitutional and political reform has tended to focus on altering the democratic structures of the United Kingdom. We have sought pluralism in our electoral system, strength and legitimacy in our Parliament, and radical decentralisation of power to national, regional and local institutions.

Posted in News | Also tagged and | 20 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarDr Michael Taylor 28th Feb - 10:40pm
    Actually, what we need is to come together to fight the election and stop beating ourselves up. I really do get fed up with people...
  • User AvatarPhilip Thomas 28th Feb - 10:15pm
    Found it- over on one of the IFS articles Neil Sandison wrote "The problem i have is how often can you milk the same cash...
  • User AvatarSteve Way 28th Feb - 10:09pm
    A genuine question here which may be down to my trying to read the IFS report on an ipad without my reading glasses. Did the...
  • User AvatarSteve Way 28th Feb - 10:03pm
    Vince is right to highlight Labour hypocrisy but I think he needs to be careful linking manifesto commitments to the word pledge. Labour had a...
  • User AvatarPhilip Thomas 28th Feb - 9:55pm
    There are multiple articles, I'm pretty sure I saw a "hands off the rich pensioners" comment somewhere... I think I responded by pointing out that...
  • User AvatarStuart 28th Feb - 9:52pm
    @Paul Walter What level of fees do you think we should have?
Sat 28th Feb 2015
Sun 1st Mar 2015
Mon 2nd Mar 2015
18:30
Wed 4th Mar 2015
Sat 7th Mar 2015
Sun 8th Mar 2015
Wed 11th Mar 2015
Fri 13th Mar 2015
Sat 14th Mar 2015
Wed 18th Mar 2015
Sat 28th Mar 2015