Tag Archives: prince harry

Next week in the Lords: 11-14 February

House of LordsIt may only be February, but like schools, half-term is approaching fast (don’t forget, Easter is a bit earlier this year). And with the break starting on Friday, there’s still quite a bit of business to squeeze in. Curiously, there are no oral questions or debates initiated from the Liberal Democrat benches all week, but the agenda isn’t without interest.

On Monday most attention will be focussed on the Second Reading of the Welfare Benefits Up-rating Bill. Baroness Stowell of Beeston has the unenviable task of leading …

Posted in News and Parliament | Also tagged , and | Leave a comment

Opinion: We should not be offended by keeping our noses out of other people’s business

Last weekend’s media was dominated by the earth shattering news that Prince Harry called a fellow soldier in the Pakistani army a “Paki”. The press have hounded him, people have accused him of racism, and the soldier’s father has spoken of his offence too.

As if this “race row” wasn’t enough to shock you to your very core, we learn that Prince Charles has been calling an Asian friend of his, Kuldip (Anglicised to Kolin in some reports) Dhillon, “Sooty” as a nickname for years without anyone taking offence at it.

As a society, we British are offended way …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , and | 11 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarRichard Underhill 7th Jul - 8:35pm
    The deadline is 15 July 2015. This is agonising. The candidates probably have enough information for a PhD thesis.
  • User AvatarRichard 7th Jul - 8:27pm
    @ Sally Haynes-Preece. "If we are going to try to act against IS, it makes no sense to ignore a border they regard as irrelevent"...
  • User AvatarRichard Underhill 7th Jul - 8:23pm
    Danny Alexander was on the BBV TV Daily Politics today, 7/7/2015. He was open to ideas about MPs job sharing. A Green had wanted to...
  • User AvatarCraig Morrison 7th Jul - 8:06pm
    Seems to me that Lib Dems are now getting the credit for what they did in government, sadly people didn't see this before the election...
  • User AvatarPaul Walter 7th Jul - 7:51pm
    Sammy I have already replied to you on this subject on another thread. Norman Lamb didn't for equal marriage at the third reading. Nor did...
  • User AvatarCllr. David Becket 7th Jul - 7:48pm
    The country, if not journalists, may work it out on Wednesday when they see the Budget the Lib Dems stopped
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015