Tag Archives: prisoner voting

Opinion: Prisoner voting rights

Prison fenceThis week, the Supreme Court is considering the legality of the Government’s ban on prisoner voting. A majority of MPs are set against even limited suffrage for prisoners. The idea makes David Cameron “physically sick” and Jack Straw believes “those who break the law cannot make the law.”

Many supporters advance the same perfectly sound arguments, particularly from a human rights perspective. But a strong, pragmatic case for full prison enfranchisement can also be made by assessing this most populist of policies against the aims of sentencing in the criminal …

Posted in Op-eds | 9 Comments

Opinion: Prisoner voting and the rule of law

Liberal Democrats have always been proud defenders of the rule of law. As our manifesto stated in 2010, the values of ‘fairness and the rule of law’ lie at the heart of our foreign policy. However, just as we call on other states such as Burma, Belarus and Zimbabwe to respect the rule of law, so we must be ever vigilant that there is no weakening of this fundamental principle at home. The Liberal Democrat policy on the Justice and Security Bill at conference in September was a powerful reminder to the leadership on how seriously we, as a party, take this issue.

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged | 14 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarMavarine Du-Marie 24th May - 8:07pm
    The Politics by Aristotle The Discourses by Machiavelli The Book of the Courtier by Baldesar Castiglione
  • User AvatarStephen Hesketh 24th May - 7:53pm
    Phil Rimmer 24th May '15 - 11:59am Richard Underhill 24th May '15 - 3:42pm Great posts! Alex Lewis 24th May '15 - 4:03pm Alex, it...
  • User Avatarbob sayer 24th May - 7:35pm
    Those who throw stones etc of course all other parties never make errors of judgements Mr Howell your comments are ridiculous
  • User AvatarJohn Littler 24th May - 7:20pm
    The stated equidistance between the buggins turn two parties seems to have been made in the view that the LibDems would benefit from tactical voting...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 24th May - 7:17pm
    Nick Tyrone's line about Burnham's new approach to Europe made me laugh: "In fact the one thing Burnham talked about in the interview that was...
  • User AvatarBolano 24th May - 7:16pm
    "I hope fair minded people would agree that Alistair Carmichael should be given that second chance" Then let his constituents decide - give them a...
Sun 24th May 2015
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015