Tag Archives: road safety

Caroline Pidgeon writes: Making our roads safer for everyone

Yesterday was World Day of Remembrance of Road Traffic Victims.

After the events of recent weeks such a day has incredible significance this year. Just at the weekend a cyclist was killed in Bath in a hit and run accident. And now just minutes ago I have heard that yet another cyclist has died in a crash with a lorry in London.

In less than two weeks the capital has seen six cyclists killed – with today’s latest fatality the number of cyclists already killed matches the total figure for 2012. I …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged | 14 Comments

Opinion: SNP’s ill thought out proposals discriminate against young people

Drew's first driving lesson - Some rights reserved by akarmyMark McDonald, SNP MSP for North East Scotland, has recently proposed unjust new restrictions on young drivers. His proposals would mean that 17-25 year olds, regardless of driving experience, would be banned from driving between 11pm and 4am every day, as well as preventing them from carrying passengers in their vehicles.

This is based on a discriminatory assumption that young people are generally bad drivers. Even although there is a higher risk as

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged and | 17 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarAndrew 5th Jul - 12:58am
    Phyllis, Actually I thought that there was evidence that amongst the working class, women are increasingly becoming the breadwinners. Girls do better in school, get...
  • User AvatarSammy O'Neill 5th Jul - 12:50am
    The only court fees I currently think are unreasonable are those for employment tribunal claims, which should be dropped as a priority. County Court fees...
  • User AvatarAndrew 5th Jul - 12:48am
    Ruth, I agree entirely - all that talent needs to be used, not wasted. And women should be able to make any of the range...
  • User AvatarAl 5th Jul - 12:25am
    Only last week LDV posted this article.. http://www.libdemvoice.org/report-shows-how-extensively-this-country-fails-vulnerable-children-46617.html Named persons would help to address the issues raised in that report. However, my problem with named...
  • User AvatarRoland 5th Jul - 12:07am
    "For the vast majority of young people the named person will be a midwife then a health visitor followed by their primary school headteacher and...
  • User AvatarRuth Bright 4th Jul - 11:52pm
    Simon McGrath - exactly. From the second link that you gave (Faculty of Advocates) : "It would appear that there is only very limited means...
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015