Tag Archives: rob gibson msp

Complaint upheld against SNP MSP caught using public funds to promote SNP candidates

Just a quick update on a story I brought to you last month about SNP MSP Rob Gibson. He used adverts, funded by the Scottish Parliament, for his surgeries which included some heavy duty promotion of his staff who at the time were standing as candidates for Highland Council. Both were subsequently elected.

 

At the time, Liberal Democrat MSP Tavish Scott complained to the Scottish Parliament Corporate Body. The minutes of their most recent meeting have been published and show that:

Posted in Election law and News | Also tagged , and | Leave a comment

SNP caught using public funds to promote Council candidates

It’s not been an easy few weeks for the SNP. Even before yesterday’s revelations from Leveson, Alex Salmond was squirming when Willie Rennie confronted him over his close ties to Rupert Murdoch which led to him playing down the phone hacking controversy when writing for the Scottish Sun on Sunday.

They’ve also had to expel one of their MSPs, Bill Walker, who was accused of domestic violence against 3 former wives. Worse, last week’s Sunday Herald reports that Deputy Leader Nicola Sturgeon’s office, although not Ms Sturgeon directly, had been told of the allegations a full three years …

Posted in News | Also tagged , , , and | 5 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarSimon Gilbert 26th May - 4:22pm
    Mick demonstrates perfectly a policy that would be radical, liberal yet neither 'right' nor 'left'. This is the kind of choice the electorate don't have,...
  • User Avatartheakes 26th May - 4:20pm
    EVEN SO, who is responsible then? Who is accountable for the two thousand lost councilors, the MEPS and MPs and the £170, 000 in lost...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 26th May - 4:15pm
    Iain Roberts, I agree, but there are plenty who demonise those on the left too. As you say: it works both ways. I have sometimes...
  • User Avatartheakes 26th May - 4:12pm
    Sara, quite right, I said this yesterday a family is tied by blood. We are a political organisation, we should cease the sentimental approach as...
  • User AvatarDaniel Henry 26th May - 4:09pm
    I strongly agree with the article. I think George, Tony, g et al have all misunderstood what Iain is saying. I think we all agree...
  • User AvatarAnne 26th May - 3:59pm
    Demonise the rich, nothing happens to them. Demonise the poor, they starve.
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015