Tag Archives: robert francis qc

Norman Lamb writes… How Liberal Democrats are promoting safety and openness in the NHS

nhs sign lrgAs a Liberal Democrat, my priority for the NHS is simple. I want patients to have the best possible care. When people are ill and vulnerable, they deserve safe and compassionate care provided by doctors and nurses with the best possible training and medical expertise. And people need to know that, when mistakes are made, doctors will be open with them – and that lessons will be learnt.

What happened at Mid Staffs Hospital was a shocking scandal. The stories of neglect sent shock waves across the country. This Government …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , , , and | 4 Comments

Norman Lamb MP writes…The government will act in response to the Francis Report

Over the course of four years at Mid Staffordshire hospital, hundreds of patients suffered from appalling neglect and mistreatment. Relatives that voiced concerns were ignored; staff that tried to speak up were silenced. It was a shocking betrayal of trust of patients and their families.

Yesterday Robert Francis QC published his report into the Mid Staffordshire NHS Foundation Trust. The public inquiry lasted more than two years, heard over 250 witness statements, considered over one million pages of documentary evidence, and has produced a report nearly two thousand pages long. It makes 290 separate recommendations.

The story of Mid Staffs, the report …

Posted in Op-eds | 5 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarSimon Gilbert 25th May - 6:09pm
    Dear Eddie, with a place to live and the work of your body and mind you always have hope. I would prefer people hold shares,...
  • User AvatarR Rossim 25th May - 5:34pm
    nvelope2003 It is really not the only thing the Liberal Democrats are "worrying about". There is a lot else being discussed around here, and I...
  • User AvatarRichard Underhill 25th May - 5:18pm
    Each candidate will need to give a view on the large number of citizens who do not choose to register to vote. For some of...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 25th May - 4:50pm
    PS, it could even raise more than a land value tax. I just think when some rich people are targeted for taxes and others aren't...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 25th May - 4:43pm
    No Malcolm, my point is that the same amount of money could raised from a net asset tax, which would include a land tax, but...
  • User AvatarDavid Cooper 25th May - 4:29pm
    @Eddie Sammon "maybe some reforms could be made?" No, the ECHR cannot be reformed by a single clause unless all 47 members unanimously agree. New...
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015