Tag Archives: robert halfon

Is bringing back the 10p rate band such a good idea?

It is hard to believe that it has been five years since Gordon Brown announced the abolition of the 10p rate band, and I am as surprised that it has taken until now for someone to suggest reintroducing it.

At Conservative Home, Robert Halfon MP argues;

Restoring a 10p rate of income tax, between £9,205 and £12,000, would cost around £6 billion a year according to the House of Commons Library. This is significantly cheaper than raising the personal allowance to £12,500 (which could cost as much as £14.4 billion). It also has the advantage that it would benefit all workers,

Posted in News | Also tagged | 19 Comments

Three simple ways to reform EDMs, without harming the fibreglass sheep

Dizzy Thinks has been on the case again about the costs run by Early Day Motions in Parliament. As he delicately puts it:

Yes, we really do have to spend £150K alone on the salary, pension and NI contributions for the poor sods that have to sort out the latest self-congratulatory bollocks that our MPs want to spout off fruitlessly about.

The combination of cost and triviality of many EDMs has caused some people to call for their abolition. I think this is going too far, as some EDMs do provide a useful mechanism, as a focus for external campaign groups, …

Posted in Op-eds and Parliament | Also tagged and | 1 Comment
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarDavid 3rd Jul - 8:53pm
    @matthew. Can't you vote green to stop the Tories too if that is the party you like best? If you say "no the lib dems...
  • User AvatarCharlie 3rd Jul - 8:27pm
    Roger Lake I never said all coalitions did not work: liberal and labour , liberal and tory, perhaps tory and ukip but liberal, labour, green...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 3rd Jul - 8:26pm
    Thanks John! I am fully in favour of referendums in Scotland and they have had one! My argument is also one against free trade, with...
  • User AvatarDavid 3rd Jul - 8:17pm
    @phyllis: a family eh? You know, whenever I hear anything described as a family, other than an actual family, I always think 'religious cult'. Anyway...
  • User AvatarGeorge Potter 3rd Jul - 7:28pm
    @David Over a decade ago people in one artificially drawn region of the UK rejected an assembly of extra layer of full time politicians who'd...
  • User AvatarPhyllis 3rd Jul - 7:28pm
    David, I have long thought exactly what you have just said but was not brave enough to say so on here. The Lib Dems are...
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015