Tag Archives: rss

Parliament to scrutinise government’s planning reforms

The Commons Communities and Local Government Committee has announced that it will be holding  two separate inquiries into aspects of the government’s local planning regime. One inquiry will examine the decision to abolish regional spatial strategies (RSS) and the other will review the coalition’s localism agenda. The abolition of the regional spatial strategies was one of the main measures featured in the coalition government’s Localism Bill, announced in the Queen’s Speech.

The inquiry into the abolition of regional spatial strategies will focus primarily on the implications for house building, in particular the implications of the abolition of regional house building …

Posted in News | Also tagged , and | 2 Comments

Top RSS tips for local campaigners

The attentive amongst you will have spotted amongst the 30 tips from m’colleague Mark Park for aspirant politicians:

Subscribe to at least 20 sites using an RSS reader, 10 of which are not party political. Using an RSS (feed) reader is a huge time-saver and an effective way of keeping up with news and information. But there’s no point just being an expert on party politics if you want to be an elected official.

RSS readers are many and various – my favoured one is Google Reader – and having just returned from engaging in another of Mark’s tips, a week …

Posted in Local government and Online politics | Also tagged , , , , and | 1 Comment
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarRuth Bright 4th Jul - 10:55am
    Also, a quick apology Caron for taking this thread further away from the subject of Catherine. Catherine is a wonderful representative. It is a foolish...
  • User AvatarRuth Bright 4th Jul - 10:46am
    John Farrand-Rogers - surely it is about an imbalance of power? Normally men have the power and women do not. When I was in my...
  • User AvatarJennie 4th Jul - 10:05am
    'Norman saying “We should reclaim the cost of our Courts and Tribunals system through user fees wherever we can – but they must be reasonable”...
  • User AvatarRichard Underhill 4th Jul - 9:38am
    It does happen that a female MP is followed by a female candidate. I met one such queueing for registration at federal conference. Part of...
  • User AvatarRichard Underhill 4th Jul - 9:30am
    I hope that the Press Officer for the Ribble Valley by-election reads this. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ribble_Valley_by-election,_1991 The Conservative candidate went into a depression afterwards, but recovered and...
  • User AvatarNeil Sandison 4th Jul - 9:10am
    Good article by Paul .I think we have a strong argument for PR in local government .every vote should count and it will improve turnout....
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015