Tag Archives: saga

LibLink | Steve Webb fears poor rap for pensions

FTAdvisor.com reports:

Steve Webb MP has raised fears about pensions’ poor image and how low interest rates and quantitative easing have damaged annuities. The Pensions Minister, who said the government is going to use employers to promote pensions and auto-enrolment, described auto-enrolment as being like a Ming vase – “very precious, but very fragile”.

He added he wants to change perceptions and instil confidence in retirement planning to ensure that charges are not too high and that pensions offer value for money. He said: “We need to move from a system that’s fiendishly complicated, that still leaves millions of pensioners living in poverty, to one, ideally, where we have a single, simple, decent state pension on which people can build.” …

He also said quantitative easing has damaged pensions. When asked about concerns over annuity risk given low interest rates and quantitative easing, the Minister admitted to “an issue about volatility, not knowing what you are going to get and an issue about poor returns.”

You can see Steve’s interview with Saga’s Director-General Ros Altmann below:

Posted in LibLink and YouTube | Also tagged , and | Leave a comment
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarDavid-1 4th Jul - 7:55pm
    In what way do you see this as "extending state powers"?
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 4th Jul - 6:56pm
    Obama won against Clinton in 2008 because of Iraq and he was seen as being to the left of her, not because women are more...
  • User AvatarDavid 4th Jul - 6:47pm
    @phyills. Somebody said something should be done about the entire poor working classes (me), but nobody said that it should solely be about poor working...
  • User AvatarStephen Donnelly 4th Jul - 6:43pm
    These two sentences from the Guardian convince me that this should be opposed. "If said named person has any concerns about a child's welfare, they...
  • User AvatarSimon McGrath 4th Jul - 6:08pm
    To characterise concern about the state appointing an official to have responsibility for every child, regardless of whether they need support, as only being opposed...
  • User AvatarRuth Bright 4th Jul - 5:57pm
    Phyllis - blimey what would we do without you? xx Stuart - exactly. David - I take your points but there is sexism in our...
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015