Tag Archives: sam bowman

Your essential Easter weekend reader — my personal pick of the week’s must-reads

Papers - Some rights reserved by NS MewsflashIt’s Sunday afternoon, so here are a baker’s dozen of thought-provoking articles to stimulate your thinking juices, culled from all those I’ve linked to this past fortnight. You can follow me on Delicious here.

Even Britain has now abandoned austerity – Anatole Kaletsky highlights the abandonment of Plan A: “While Osborne repeated his mantra that “you can’t cure a crisis caused by debt with more debt,” he will now do exactly this by creating a British equivalent of government-guaranteed Fannie Mae mortgages to …

Posted in News | Also tagged , , , , , , , , , and | 4 Comments

And the winner of our Liberal Voice of the Year award is… Sam Bowman

liberal-voiceIt’s a fortnight since we launched our search for the Liberal Voice of the Year with the aim of finding the individual or group which has had the biggest impact on liberalism in the past 12 months. This is LibDemVoice’s sixth such annual award, and as is our tradition, we looked beyond the ranks of the Lib Dems to find the liberal who’s most impressed our readers and is not a member of our party.

We unveiled the shortlist here on New Year’s Day. In total, 755 readers cast a vote in the past two weeks using a preferential voting system. The final (8th) round of voting gave the following result:

Posted in Polls | Also tagged and | 66 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarBolano 22nd May - 1:46pm
    @Mark Posen 22nd May '15 - 11:45am "@Paul Butters I think that this poll is nothing more than a bit of fun and certainly can’t...
  • User AvatarNeil Sandison 22nd May - 1:42pm
    Why are you all thinking in such a conventional way ? Try thinking outside of the box of a conference centre .Why not have a...
  • User AvatarGareth Wilson 22nd May - 1:38pm
    You know, the more I think about it there really was a complete lack of outright attack on the Liberal Democrats, by both parties, especially...
  • User AvatarHannah Bettsworth 22nd May - 1:10pm
    There's another piece of underlying context there - the interesting thing with Spain is that it has not managed to form a coalition since the...
  • User Avatarnvelope2003 22nd May - 12:54pm
    One other thing - if Heathrow is so damaging to the locals why are there huge hoardings advertising new houses being built there ? Many...
  • User AvatarSue S 22nd May - 12:47pm
    I think the problem with our promoting reform of the voting system was that it was completely irrelevant at that time to most of the...
Fri 22nd May 2015
Sat 23rd May 2015
Sun 24th May 2015
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015