Tag Archives: same sex parents

Opinion: David Jones is wrong on same sex parenting

It’s been a long time since something riled me so much I headed straight for the keyboard but the news of the comments made by Welsh Secretary David Jones regarding same sex couples bringing up children  did it. For anyone who missed it, t he said :

 I regard marriage as an institution that has developed over many centuries, essentially for the provision of a warm and safe environment for the upbringing of children, which is clearly something that two same-sex partners can’t do.

 He has now claimed that he was quoted out of context given that elsewhere he lauded civil partnerships …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , and | 162 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarHelen Tedcastle 28th May - 12:47pm
    Alex Lewis ' ... to deny the individual the right to choose when they die is denying them a basic human right' On this point...
  • User AvatarRichard Shaw 28th May - 12:47pm
    @David Evershed "The fault in Simon Foster’s argument is that we had a referendum on the Fisrt [sic] Past the Post voting system and that’s...
  • User AvatarCllr. David Becket 28th May - 12:43pm
    Whilst under normal circumstances I would want to see him out of the party these are not normal circumstances. SNP, who are as guilty as...
  • User AvatarJohnTilley 28th May - 12:37pm
    George Potter 28th May '15 - 10:02am "....conventions are just conventions – they can and should be broken ..." Indeed so. It was pathetic to...
  • User AvatarMichael BG 28th May - 12:35pm
    It would be necessary to change the rules about who can be voted to committees if both one member, one vote and no “reserved places”...
  • User AvatarHelen Tedcastle 28th May - 12:33pm
    For me, Alison McInnes MSP has it about right. She offers a coherent argument from a Liberal Democrat perspective and from her position as a...
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015
Thu 25th Jun 2015