Tag Archives: samuel brittan

Your essential weekend reader — 12 must-read articles you may have missed

It’s Saturday evening, so here are twelve thought-provoking articles to stimulate your thinking juices culled from the 50+ I’ve linked to this last week. You can follow me on Delicious here.

Kings, queens and the political chess match – Sue Cameron ponders what the invitation to HM The Queen to attend cabinet this week could portend: ‘Charles III might point to that precedent and say he would like to follow it. Moreover, he would like to attend more regularly and speak at it …

Posted in News | Also tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , and | 2 Comments

The politics of sluggish growth: good for the Tories, bad for Labour, and as for the Lib Dems we’ll see

Today saw the publication by the IMF of its latest growth forecasts. UK growth prospects are downgraded once again. Growth in 2012 is now forecast to be -0.4% (the most recent quarter’s strong showing is anomalous) and an anaemic 1.1% in 2013. As The Spectator’s Jonathan Jones observes, the only thing new here is that the IMF is falling ‘into line with the consensus’.

On the face of it this is bad news for the Coalition, further evidence that the economic strategy of deficit reduction driven forward by David Cameron and George Osborne, and endorsed by Nick …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , , , , and | 33 Comments

Recent Comments

  • User AvatarManfarang 14th Oct - 3:00am
    Stimpson "I think there is still confusion within the party if we support economic liberalism, or something closer to Corbynite social democracy" Mr. Corbyn is...
  • User AvatarBill le Breton 14th Oct - 12:47am
    Here's a fiscal mandate we cd get behind: A target for annual gross public investment of not less than [5] per cent of GDP by...
  • User AvatarBolano 13th Oct - 11:22pm
    @David Allen I think you are, if nothing's done, talking about a generation. Those who are politically engaged (i.e. who vote) have very long memories....
  • User AvatarT-J 13th Oct - 11:16pm
    Dav, geography has always been Ireland's curse, really. Of course, England could impose such economic 'suicide' on Ireland. But that would be a kind of...
  • User AvatarSIMON BANKS 13th Oct - 10:36pm
    Helen has a point. Even taking into account our limited finances, our campaign seemed diffuse and reactive. An election campaign needs to push two or...
  • User AvatarJayne Mansfield 13th Oct - 10:26pm
    @ Richard Underhill, You may be interested in a study carried out by Cardiff University and published in The Conversation. 'Hard Evidence: How biased is...
Wed 14th Oct 2015
Thu 15th Oct 2015
Fri 16th Oct 2015
Sat 17th Oct 2015
Sun 18th Oct 2015
Tue 20th Oct 2015
Thu 22nd Oct 2015
Fri 23rd Oct 2015
Sat 24th Oct 2015
Sun 25th Oct 2015
Wed 28th Oct 2015
Thu 29th Oct 2015
Mon 2nd Nov 2015
Wed 4th Nov 2015
Thu 5th Nov 2015
Fri 6th Nov 2015
Sat 7th Nov 2015
Tue 10th Nov 2015