Tag Archives: samuel brittan

Your essential weekend reader — 12 must-read articles you may have missed

It’s Saturday evening, so here are twelve thought-provoking articles to stimulate your thinking juices culled from the 50+ I’ve linked to this last week. You can follow me on Delicious here.

Kings, queens and the political chess match – Sue Cameron ponders what the invitation to HM The Queen to attend cabinet this week could portend: ‘Charles III might point to that precedent and say he would like to follow it. Moreover, he would like to attend more regularly and speak at it …

Posted in News | Also tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , and | 2 Comments

The politics of sluggish growth: good for the Tories, bad for Labour, and as for the Lib Dems we’ll see

Today saw the publication by the IMF of its latest growth forecasts. UK growth prospects are downgraded once again. Growth in 2012 is now forecast to be -0.4% (the most recent quarter’s strong showing is anomalous) and an anaemic 1.1% in 2013. As The Spectator’s Jonathan Jones observes, the only thing new here is that the IMF is falling ‘into line with the consensus’.

On the face of it this is bad news for the Coalition, further evidence that the economic strategy of deficit reduction driven forward by David Cameron and George Osborne, and endorsed by Nick …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , , , , and | 33 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarDavid-1 23rd May - 1:33am
    Roland: "It’s a oath of allegiance not some aspirational mumbo jumbo." No, it is. That's exactly what it is. The problem is that you don't...
  • User AvatarTonyJ 23rd May - 1:01am
    The leak itself is bad. But what is worse is the cover-up. Sturgeon has honed in on this, and (God I hate to say it)...
  • User AvatarHannah Bettsworth 23rd May - 12:35am
    I could have written a 1, 500 word or more essay on this, as I would have loved to explain the whole historical background but...
  • User AvatarPeter Watson 23rd May - 12:35am
    The full memo was published at the time (http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/politics/SNP/11515276/Revealed-Full-text-of-Nicola-Sturgeon-memo.html) The author wrote All of this was given on a confidential basis, so please limit any...
  • User AvatarMark Argent 23rd May - 12:29am
    Interesting distinction between transactional and transformational leadership. The hitch we have at the moment is that a transformational approach under Tim could easily feel like...
  • User AvatarCraig Morrison 23rd May - 12:11am
    I was wondering if anyone could answer a question? I was reading that by leaking the memo Alastair Carmichael had broken Westminster protocol and can't...
Sat 23rd May 2015
Sun 24th May 2015
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015