Tag Archives: samuel johnson

Daily View 2×2: 29 October 2009

Good morning and welcome to October 29th. Today is the anniversary of the first performance of Mozart’s Don Giovanni, the birthday of Boswell, the biographer of Samuel L Jackson, and the anniversary of the death of Sir Walter Raleigh (he was executed – I didn’t know that.)

It’s also the fifth anniversary of the signing of the Treaty of Rome, which first set up a Constitution for Europe.

2 Big Stories

The postal strike is on
Read all about it on the Times, the Telegraph and the Guardian:

Both sides blamed each other after three days of talks mediated by the TUC collapsed without a deal being reached. As late as evening there had still been some hope that this week’s strike action could be called off to relieve the pressure on Royal Mail.

Posted in Daily View | Also tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , and | 2 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarJamie Stewart 1st Jul - 12:55pm
    I couldn't agree more with Tim, and I work within the oil and gas sector. The most sure form of energy the UK can produce...
  • User AvatarStephen Hesketh 1st Jul - 12:52pm
    Peter1st Jul '15 - 12:24pm "That is a very irresponsible position. Mr Farron is obviously poorly advised. The Grid cannot function with the levels of...
  • User AvatarPaul Walter 1st Jul - 12:32pm
    Phyllis Of course I take the issue of trust seriously. I am just not sure how many times we have to go round this circle....
  • User AvatarMatthew Huntbach 1st Jul - 12:28pm
    TCO Despite all the best effort of the tertiary sector at outreach, too many pupils never even get past the first hurdle – if you...
  • User AvatarTony Rowan-Wicks 1st Jul - 12:26pm
    Agree with Tim to campaign for a legally binding decarbonisation target for 2030, which can largely be achieved by expanding renewables, and for a deadline...
  • User AvatarPeter 1st Jul - 12:24pm
    That is a very irresponsible position. Mr Farron is obviously poorly advised. The Grid cannot function with the levels of renewable energy being proposed therefore...
Wed 1st Jul 2015
Thu 2nd Jul 2015
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015