Tag Archives: sanjay samani

Daily View 2×2: 4 February 2010

Good morning, on this misty day which in history saw three awful earthquakes – in Haicheng, Guatemala and Afghanistan.

This day is a birthday to American civil rights campaigner Rosa Parks (pictured) as well as to the American vice-president famously unable to spell “potato”, Dan Quayle.

Deaths on the 4th February include Liberace and American novelist novellist writer Patricia Highsmith, who wrote Strangers on a Train, The Talented Mr Ripley, and – according to Wikipedia at least – the first lesbian novel with a happy ending.

Today is also Facebook’s 6th birthday. How many other 6 year-olds earned $300m last year, had new words entered into dictionaries, and caused moral panic?

2 Big Stories

Legg Report published

Later today, Sir Thomas Legg’s report will be published on Parliament’s website. The Guardian – MPs ordered to pay back more than £1m reports:

Posted in Daily View | Also tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , and | Leave a comment
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarAshley 29th May - 8:58am
    Danny Finkelstein talks nonsense. We are part of one of the longest political traditions in British politics. Liberalism is not something you can just cast...
  • User AvatarPeter Sigrist 29th May - 8:48am
    @Matthew Huntbach I suspect we largely agree with one another (though you make it sound like we're diametrically opposed). I'll take your lucid argument and...
  • User AvatarAWills 29th May - 8:46am
    He comes across as a throughly decent person, and a safe choice.
  • User AvatarKeith Edkins 29th May - 8:24am
    Editorial sponsorship by an airport is a specialized meaning of the word "Independent" of which I was not previously aware
  • User AvatarStephen Hesketh 29th May - 8:05am
    As a Liberal I believe this is such a fundamental matter of individual conscience, self determination and individual human rights that we should permit and...
  • User Avatarwilliam jones 29th May - 8:03am
    The author who is a Liberal Democrat member in Barcelona is right people do join us for different reasons other than being elected.
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015
Thu 25th Jun 2015