Tag Archives: secret votes

George Lyon MEP writes: Lib Dem MEPs will resist secret EU vote

Last week the European Council agreed a new European budget that will, for the first time, see a cut in the amount of money that the EU spends.

Liberal Democrats at Westminster and in the European Parliament have made clear that the EU needs to live within its means. We are in favour of a sensible and realistic deal that reflects the tough economic times that ordinary people are facing. Some MEPs see things differently and oppose the idea of a degree of fiscal restraint in Europe.

People who oppose the cuts in the EU budget that have been put forward are …

Posted in Europe / International and Op-eds | Also tagged and | 13 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarJennie 28th May - 12:43am
    What Nick Barlow said. Also: regarding the app you refer to; if that's the conference app I won't have it on my phone. It won't...
  • User AvatarCharlie 27th May - 11:51pm
    If we look at the Renaissance, the rise of the Netherlands , the Industrial Revolution in the UK, the economic expansion in Germany 1850 to...
  • User AvatarLiberal Al 27th May - 11:41pm
    A women in a £1m hat, who lives on the public purse, talks of austerity. Yet, I am the extremist for being a republican (note...
  • User Avatargautam16 27th May - 11:32pm
    The main issue is that the benefits are very easily presented, but the costs are obscure and immeasurable. Eg1 over time, will society look down...
  • User Avatarsuzanne fletcher 27th May - 11:32pm
    I agree with John Grout about us playing our part in helping the migrant crisis.
  • User AvatarGlenn 27th May - 11:30pm
    I worked with a night shelter for a couple of weeks, mainly reorganising their filing system. A lot of people were referred by the police....
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015