Tag Archives: seville

I apologise for my lack of enthusiasm for HS2. It’s been unavoidably delayed owing to the lack of evidence

HS2‘All aboard!’ exhorts the email I received last night from Lib Dem transport minister Norman Baker, hailing his announcement of the Coalition’s plans for Phase Two of Britain’s High Speed Rail Network (aka HS2). I’m afraid, though, I’m going to have to apologise to Norman for the delay in arrival of my goodwill owing to what I suspect is the wrong type of investment on the lines.

HS2, we are told, will cut journey times, help the environment, heal the North-South divide and boost growth. Each of these arguments is less …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , , , , , and | 45 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarIan Sanderson (RM3) 1st Jul - 5:14am
    I used to be an OU tutor, and I had during that time I had two students (different years, different prisons) who were prisoners. This...
  • User AvatarSammy O'Neill 1st Jul - 2:37am
    Vote still in decline then. Amazing that we're at the point of viewing parish council results as even remotely important. Fact is the national party...
  • User AvatarJohn Innes 1st Jul - 2:26am
    Good question Alastair - deserves a response!
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 1st Jul - 2:15am
    By the way, I don't want to derail, so keep on the topic of the veto. But the point remains the same: if things change...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 1st Jul - 2:11am
    What happens if the Lib Dems need to change policy at short-notice? Organising a conference to vote on things often takes too long. Surely it...
  • User Avatarkevin 1st Jul - 1:53am
    'We can all but honour ours and face a massive trust issue.' Get real, we didn't please stop deluding yourself it's ridiculous.
Wed 1st Jul 2015
Thu 2nd Jul 2015
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015