Tag Archives: Silk Commission

Opinion: more freedom, more responsibility, more accountability for Wales

The launch of the Silk Commission’s first report this week is a real win for liberalism.

The report looks at the financial powers that the National Assembly for Wales should have, how accountable it is for its spending and how we ensure effective economic policy is rewarded. I welcome the report’s declaration that a number of taxes, such as air passenger duty and landfill tax, should be devolved. But more significantly, the report also recommends that by 2020, …

Posted in News and Wales | Also tagged | 1 Comment
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarDavid-1 27th May - 1:48am
    Can't one just forgo the response altogether? The attention to it is likely to be only negative.
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 27th May - 1:18am
    I must agree with David-1: those with the most power have the most opportunity. I don't think it can be separated. However Richard S does...
  • User AvatarSammy O'Neill 27th May - 1:06am
    I can't help but feel that Nick Clegg needs to take a bit of advice from John Major on this one and realise that "when...
  • User AvatarSammy O'Neill 27th May - 12:58am
    @Tony To me the core electorate in a lot of our former urban seats were students and young professionals/aspiring professionals under 35 reinforced by a...
  • User AvatarDavid-1 27th May - 12:52am
    The idea that there is some sort of opposition between "equality of opportunity" and "equality of outcomes" is absurd. The only way that you can...
  • User AvatarPaul Pettinger 27th May - 12:41am
    You seek to speak on behalf of new members, but dismiss the message of 4.4 million former voters. I thought LDV required people to be...
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015