Tag Archives: simon wren-lewis

Your essential weekend reader — my personal pick of the week’s must-reads

It’s Saturday evening, so here are twelve thought-provoking articles to stimulate your thinking juices culled from all those I’ve linked to this last week. You can follow me on Delicious here.

What will make banks care about their customers? – Diana Coyle says don’t increase banking regulation, instead open up the oligopolistic banking industry to true competition: ‘more competitive banking systems are more stable – the banks tend to be smaller so the “too big to fail” problem is less acute, and smaller banks …

Posted in News | Also tagged , , , , , , , , and | 1 Comment
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 30th Jun - 3:08am
    John, by "hard-headed" I mean "what wins sustainable votes". Regards
  • User AvatarMark Green 30th Jun - 2:07am
    I don't see that a single issue united anti-Tory party could possibly work for the reasons that Dal pointed out. And while I think formal...
  • User AvatarT-J 30th Jun - 2:07am
    There should be agreement between the parties to bring about electoral reform. Certainly, there should be a pact between the smaller parties not to enter...
  • User AvatarSammy O'Neill 30th Jun - 12:55am
    This idea is so unfeasible, it's ridiculous. If we optimistically assume the Tories didn't win, In the time it would take to amend the voting...
  • User AvatarStewart 30th Jun - 12:51am
    I'm not hugely inspired. The leaflets I've received are very telling: - Farron's has that cosy old school sandals and leather patches feel to it,...
  • User Avatarkevin 30th Jun - 12:38am
    Roger Lake What's the point of having one let alone two elections when any change in the voting system would need to pass a referendum...
Tue 30th Jun 2015
Wed 1st Jul 2015
Thu 2nd Jul 2015
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015