Tag Archives: social care reforms

Social care reforms – open thread

Jeremy Hunt is due to confirm the pre-announced details of Social Care reform later today.

The BBC summarises what’s known about the proposals here:

The government is due to announce its “fully-funded solution” to the problem of elderly people in England who cannot afford social care.

It is expected to include a £75,000 cap on the costs people pay for care and a rise in the threshold for means-tested support from £23,250 to £123,000.

Health secretary Jeremy Hunt said the “scandal” of many people selling homes to pay care bills must be tackled.

Do these proposals go far enough?

Posted in News | 4 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarStephen Hesketh 23rd May - 8:09am
    Interesting background socio-political analysis from Guy immediately followed by Bill le Breton's excellent comments and (Gareth Epps) links. I will be visiting/revisiting these over the...
  • User AvatarHelen Dudden 23rd May - 7:51am
    A country with history. Things are not easy there at present, again, not an article. I comment on Brussels 11a and the Hague Convention it...
  • User AvatarTCO 23rd May - 7:22am
    @Alex Macfie yes I'm well aware of the Liberal Revival starting in local government. But basing any hopes of national revival on that track is...
  • User AvatarTCO 23rd May - 6:56am
    @Mark Argent that's a very perceptive analysis. There's a seductive line of thought that wishes to "takes us back to the days of Kennedy" when,...
  • User AvatarDavid-1 23rd May - 1:44am
    What truly bothers me is that we have part of the UK government essentially spying on the Scottish government (via the French!), and everyone seems...
  • User AvatarDavid-1 23rd May - 1:33am
    Roland: "It’s a oath of allegiance not some aspirational mumbo jumbo." No, it is. That's exactly what it is. The problem is that you don't...
Sat 23rd May 2015
Sun 24th May 2015
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015