Tag Archives: socio economic duty

Lynne Featherstone to reform Equality and Human Rights Commission

The Guardian reported on Tuesday that Equalities Minister Lynne Featherstone is to reform the Equality and  Human Rights Commission, cutting its budget and removing some of its responsibilities, most notably its obligation to assess how Government policies would affect the poorest.

Now, if ever there was a quango in need of reform, the Equalities and Human Rights Commission is that body. Dysfunctional seems to be the best word to describe the EHRC. Wasteful would be another. For three years running, the National Audit Office qualified its accounts. Last year was the first year since its formation in 2007 when it managed to …

Posted in News | Also tagged , , , , and | 16 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarMatthew Huntbach 27th May - 2:43pm
    adrian sanders We once said to the other parties don’t pick up the phone unless you are prepared to concede on PR. Dropping this was...
  • User AvatarMichael Beckett 27th May - 2:38pm
    Rural and urban parity of funding bill. Various funding formulas have under costed the effects of rurality on service provision including the NHS. Corrections are...
  • User AvatarMatthew Huntbach 27th May - 2:28pm
    Psi I really hope that is a joke. This myth of the “left wing north & Scotland” and “right wing south” is ridiculous. There were...
  • User AvatarTrevor Stables 27th May - 2:23pm
    I forgot to say...This is not a Party Political Matter and must remain a matter of conscience.
  • User AvatarPsi 27th May - 2:22pm
    Matthew Huntbach “So you just assume they have put work in to get where they have. Are you quite sure that’s always the case for...
  • User AvatarJoshua Dixon 27th May - 2:22pm
    Not backing Norman but I agree with him on this.
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015