Tag Archives: sovereignty

Opinion: Cameron is wishing for an EU that already exists

The prime objective of David Cameron’s Europe speech was always to placate anti-European critics on his right flank rather than to set out a bold vision in the national interest. And in that sense, his ‘red meat’ pledge of an in/out referendum after 2015 may succeed in sating his own party’s Eurosceptic appetite, at least in the short term. But there are at least three reasons why his strategy is not only mistaken, but risks deeply damaging the national interest.

First, while the ‘repatriationist’ wing of Cameron’s own party may be satisfied with the promise of a renegotiation of as yet …

Posted in Europe / International and Op-eds | Also tagged and | 12 Comments

Opinion: We must become the party of liberty

When William III arrived on these shores in November 1688, the new King proclaimed to maintain the liberties of England and vigorously defend the liberty of his subjects. In the subsequent months, Parliament adopted the Declaration of Rights – The English Bill of Rights 1689. The corner stone of our constitution, which is still in force to this day but sadly has become a forgotten relic of antiquity.

It seems that we in Britain have forgotten about our hard struggles to gain our liberty. When it comes to foreign …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , , and | 24 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarRuth Bright 4th Jul - 12:27pm
    Until that woman has her second period of maternity leave and then her career tends towards toast!
  • User AvatarAndrew 4th Jul - 12:14pm
    @ John Tilley, Presumably you will be campaigning for the restoration of Kaliningrad to Germany, the deportation of the current 100% Russian population, and the...
  • User AvatarCaron Lindsay 4th Jul - 12:08pm
    Thanks, George.
  • User AvatarAntony Hook 4th Jul - 12:03pm
    "I think a male who grew up on a council estate and went to their local school will be more disadvantaged than a privately educated...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 4th Jul - 11:48am
    Hi John, all permanent Crimean residents should get the vote. This is the same policy I ask for for the UK, but we don't deliver...
  • User AvatarAndrew 4th Jul - 11:39am
    BTW Sammy and Caron: I think your experiences are disgraceful. I do not see such sexist attitudes amongst my students though (although I suspect they...
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015