Tag Archives: spectator

Out on the campaign trail with Jo Swinson

The Spectator’s Isabel Hardman went up to East Dunbartonshire to go campaigning with Jo Swinson recently. Her piece is pretty balanced and fair and gives quite an insight into Jo on the campaign trail

Now, I know what a whirlwind Jo is and how much work she gets through and how many doors she knocks on. I went across to help many times during the 2005 campaign. She was so disciplined and even if she met her own high targets, she wasn’t happy unless she’d done even more.

Her campaigning experience comes across in Hardman’s profile as does her name recognition:

Swinson is also a proper local campaigner. Everyone we meet seems to have had a problem that she’s sorted out. ‘You fixed my drains!’ is something several householders exclaim as they open the door (they mean she got the council to do it, I assume, though Swinson does tell one man she used to be a girl guide, which makes me wonder if she has actually personally fixed some drains too). Even the voters who aren’t backing her say ‘I’ve got to say, you do a lot for this area. Well done.’

She also behaves like someone used to pounding pavements. When we’re knocking on doors in a sheltered housing complex, she makes sure that the fire doors don’t swing noisily shut after her, instead shutting them gently herself. This is the sort of thing people who don’t bother to knock on doors very often don’t do, because they don’t realise how much striding noisily through someone else’s property annoys them.

Hardman reckons Labour MPs are so non-plussed because they’ve never had to campaign, but it’s clearly Jo’s forte.

Posted in News | Also tagged , and | 1 Comment

Clarke’s concessions on secret courts will not satisfy Liberal Democrat campaigners

Ken ClarkeIsabel Hardman has written a piece on the Spectator’s Coffee House blog which essentially says that Liberal Democrat MPs and campaigners are on a bit of a collision course over Part II of the Justice and Security Bill. Liberal Democrat conference voted overwhelmingly in favour of this measure being withdrawn because of its provisions on secret courts.

The article suggests that Liberal Democrat MPs are likely to support the measures now that Ken Clarke has accepted an

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , , and | 1 Comment
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarSimon Boyd 30th May - 9:12am
    We need to relook at the policy against any development of airports in the SE -- the needs of the British economy and the competitiveness...
  • User AvatarPaul In Wokingham 30th May - 9:09am
    But "3rd choice" Aaron Aardvark will always outpoll "1st choice" Zebedee Zukowsky.
  • User AvatarJohnTilley 30th May - 8:57am
    Conservative home has a very interesting analysis of the South West election result http://www.conservativehome.com/parliament/2015/05/battlegrounds-revisited-2-the-south-west.html Jenny Barnes 29th May '15 - 4:37pm Many thanks to this...
  • User AvatarMatthew Huntbach 30th May - 8:55am
    Me OK then, could you please point out some situation in some other country which proves your point, That was not a rhetorical question, Phyllis....
  • User AvatarMark 30th May - 8:55am
    Quite sensible from both. Phyllis: what would you have FIFA do, expel every country that has ongoing territorial conflicts or human rights issues? Fifa would...
  • User AvatarMatthew Huntbach 30th May - 8:50am
    expats Matthew Huntbach 29th May ’15 – 12:13pm …………….. We need coherent and rational politics which no-one is offering right now…………… Perhaps but with the...
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015
Thu 25th Jun 2015
Fri 26th Jun 2015