Tag Archives: spring conference 2013

The state of the party as we head to Brighton for Spring Conference

By the time you read this, I’ll be in London, no doubt bleary eyed after a night on the sleeper, on my way to Spring Conference in Brighton. I’ve been thinking about how we are as we gather at the seaside. It’s been an eventful six months but has the good outweighed the bad?

Things to smile about

Since we met in Brighton, our ministers in the Coalition Government have done some excellent things. Here’s just a selection:

  • Plans for shared parental leave announced;
  • Equal (ish) marriage Bill unveiled;
  • Stopping the Tories capping Child Benefit at 2 children and taking Housing Benefit off

Posted in Conference and Op-eds | Also tagged | 3 Comments

That ‘jewelry tax’ proposal

Jewellery shot for RK Jewellers 01“Now they want to tax jewellery: New Lib Dem wealth plan to target ALL assets” screamed a headline in the Mail on Sunday yesterday, warning their readers of the latest appalling imposition that Lib Dems in government were about to put upon the public.

“Families will be forced to pay tax on jewellery and other heirlooms under controversial new plans drawn up by the Liberal Democrats. Under the scheme, tax inspectors would get unprecedented new powers to go into homes and value rings, necklaces, paintings, furniture and other family treasures.” they said. If you really want to, read the full article here.

Posted in News | Also tagged and | 21 Comments

Caron’s pick of the Federal Spring Conference agenda

Spring 2013 Federal Conference agendaIt’s just over three weeks until Liberal Democrats gather in Brighton for our annual Federal Spring Conference. This morning the agenda landed on my doorstep and I thought I’d share my highlights with you.

If you can, it’s worth trying to get there for 3 pm on Friday 8th March for the consultation sessions. This is an important part of the policy making process, where ordinary party members can have their say as policy documents are being written. Most of them are on issues which apply to the …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , , and | 3 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarAlex Macfie 23rd May - 11:09am
    We generally do better in national elections in areas where we have strength in local government than where we do not. This is all the...
  • User AvatarJennie 23rd May - 11:07am
    For the presidential election you had to get 200 voting reps from 20 different local parties to physically sign papers. The traditional method is to...
  • User AvatarEdis Bevan 23rd May - 11:03am
    Nominations for the presidential post had to be from Federal Conference reps. I could not nominate Linda as I am 'only' an ordinary party member...
  • User AvatarJohnTilley 23rd May - 11:01am
    I watched the last few days/weeks of the referendum in Ireland through the lenses of France 24 TV News as the UK media especially The...
  • User AvatarAndrew Ducker 23rd May - 10:51am
    I'd like to understand why people who have enough support to plausibly win are incapable of getting enough nominations. Is it a matter of time...
  • User AvatarMartin 23rd May - 10:47am
    Alex Macfie: I do not think that is what TCO is saying at all. I do not know why an earlier comment of mine is...
Sat 23rd May 2015
Sun 24th May 2015
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015