Tag Archives: starbucks

Stephen Williams MP writes… Making tax taxing again – 2013 is the Year of Tax Justice

“I do believe that as leaders, we all have a common interest in being able to tell our taxpayers who work hard and pay their fair share of taxes, that we will make sure others do the same…But to achieve this will require strong political leadership…I hope we can be ambitious.”
(David Cameron, Prime Minister’s Letter to G8 Leaders, 2 January 2013)

This year the UK holds the Presidency of the G8, with the world’s top leaders coming to Lough Erne in Northern Ireland in June. This is a momentous and perfectly timed opportunity to turn public anger, evident around the …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , , and | 1 Comment

Vince Cable criticises Starbucks over ‘tax dodging’

In the Guardian today, Vince Cable  says that he understands why people are boycotting Starbucks.

The business secretary, when asked by the Guardian if he would consider boycotting their products, said:

I don’t shop at Starbucks so this doesn’t apply to me, but I can fully understand why people would vote with their feet as a result of their tax dodging.

Posted in News | Also tagged , and | 13 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarMrWallace 4th Jul - 9:09pm
    PR as a red line no nonsense about a referendum? When I ask why this wasn't done in 2010 I'm told because it would be...
  • User AvatarAndrew 4th Jul - 8:55pm
    I should have said "look after their children for part of the time" of course! Unless your are aristocracy...
  • User AvatarAndrew 4th Jul - 8:53pm
    OK, my feelings on this: having children is a choice. Children are wonderful, but they are very demanding. Bringing them up as well-socialised, positive members...
  • User AvatarJane Ann Liston 4th Jul - 8:24pm
    I recall too many cases where children have died at the hands of their carers and, although various individuals thought something was amiss, they were...
  • User AvatarNick Thornsby 4th Jul - 8:06pm
    Jennie and John - are you suggesting we abolish court fees altogether? I disagree with the increase implemented by the coalition but I don't see...
  • User AvatarDavid-1 4th Jul - 7:55pm
    In what way do you see this as "extending state powers"?
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015