Tag Archives: student visas

Opinion: UK Border Agency plunges colleges into crisis

I wrote recently about the train-wreck that is happening before our eyes with the new student visa rules.  Well, there has been a new development. The UK Border Agency has abruptly suspended the visa-sponsoring licences of more than 50 private colleges without giving reasons. All over the place, crisis talks are taking place in the colleges affected, as people try to work out what on earth is happening. Is this more of the deep-rooted incompetence that we have all come to expect from the Home Office, or has a political decision been taken to expel lots of dark faces and …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , and | 34 Comments

Opinion: How student visas are creating crime incentives

I am tired of reading arrant rubbish about student visas in the newspapers. So let me (as someone who helps to administer a small private college) supply an insider’s view of what is really happening.

Most political parties support the new “Points-Based System” of immigration rules as a Good Thing, and maybe it would be, if only the Home Office was fit for purpose. In practice, the UK Border Agency simply cannot keep up with its workload. Therefore the process of licensing private colleges to sponsor student visa applications is running months late and has actually tipped the …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged and | 3 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User Avatar(Matt Bristol) 30th Jun - 5:32pm
    So do the leaders of the federal constituents of the party get local vetoes on manifesto commitments in 'their own' manifestoes? And what about that...
  • User AvatarNick Barlow 30th Jun - 5:30pm
    "I just don’t think ordinary members have access to the same advice as the leader" Yes, that's the point - the leadership is often caught...
  • User AvatarGareth Wilson 30th Jun - 5:12pm
    Much as I applaud the majority of Liberal Reform's work I can't agree with this one - its the secrecy of the FPC that's the...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 30th Jun - 5:09pm
    Nick Barlow makes a good point about the marketability of it, but I just don't think ordinary members have access to the same advice as...
  • User AvatarStephen Campbell 30th Jun - 5:07pm
    @TCO: "Choices bring consequences." "Well, perhaps the poor Greeks should have voted in governments prepared to deal with widespread tax evasion." Nice bit of victim...
  • User AvatarMorgan Inwood 30th Jun - 5:06pm
    STV for Local Authority elections will only work when all wards in that Local Authority are up for election at the same time. At the...
Tue 30th Jun 2015
Wed 1st Jul 2015
Thu 2nd Jul 2015
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015