Tag Archives: student visas

Opinion: UK Border Agency plunges colleges into crisis

I wrote recently about the train-wreck that is happening before our eyes with the new student visa rules.  Well, there has been a new development. The UK Border Agency has abruptly suspended the visa-sponsoring licences of more than 50 private colleges without giving reasons. All over the place, crisis talks are taking place in the colleges affected, as people try to work out what on earth is happening. Is this more of the deep-rooted incompetence that we have all come to expect from the Home Office, or has a political decision been taken to expel lots of dark faces and …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , and | 34 Comments

Opinion: How student visas are creating crime incentives

I am tired of reading arrant rubbish about student visas in the newspapers. So let me (as someone who helps to administer a small private college) supply an insider’s view of what is really happening.

Most political parties support the new “Points-Based System” of immigration rules as a Good Thing, and maybe it would be, if only the Home Office was fit for purpose. In practice, the UK Border Agency simply cannot keep up with its workload. Therefore the process of licensing private colleges to sponsor student visa applications is running months late and has actually tipped the …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged and | 3 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarShirley Campbell 24th May - 12:54am
    Wow, when did Liberalism abandon radicalism? Wow, when Liberals abandoned the Liberal Party and set up the Liberal Democratic Party. Please folk research Liberalism and...
  • User AvatarMartin 24th May - 12:10am
    Tony Greaves: Do you think that we would not have won a referendum on gay marriage? More seriously, as a Liberal do you not have...
  • User Avatartony123 24th May - 12:09am
    Look at how the Fianna Fail/ Green coalition worked out for the Greens. You'll struggle to find the Greens in Eire. As to Labour they...
  • User AvatarAndrew S Hatton 23rd May - 11:58pm
    All this LD hand wringing is about not retaining the power and influence that was accepted by the Parliamentary Party who agreed the deal in...
  • User AvatarTony Greaves 23rd May - 11:06pm
    Just won a referendum which we could not.
  • User AvatarMartin 23rd May - 11:06pm
    For those many graduates who do not get to earn high salaries, who in the end do not have to pay anything or not very...
Sun 24th May 2015
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015