Tag Archives: stv-mmc-ftw

What challenges might the future bring?

Challenge #1 – the electoral system

I nearly wrote this a few weeks ago, at which point it would have looked prophetic – writing it now just looks like I’m crowbarring it on the back of the rather sensational Yougov / Sun poll, news of which is breaking on Twitter.

Any number of people have taken the poll figures, Con: 33 (-4); Lab: 28 (-3); Lib Dem: 30 (+8), plugged them into UK Polling Report’s uniform swing calculator, and reeled, aghast at the revelation that our awful electoral system is so completely bust that it’s conceivable that the party …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , , , , and | 4 Comments

Cometh the hour, cometh PR?

It’s quiet in LDV Towers this afternoon as all the responsible editors have day job responsibilties.

We can always tell when we’re not talking about something our readers want to have their say on, because you kindly have your say on it anyway on whatever was the top post.

And today’s topic is clearly Call Me Dave’s speech on parliamentary reform, in which he sets out a series of Lib Dem policy proposals and pretends they’re new.  There’s no zealot like a recently converted zealot, but hang on a minute, Dave?  Power to the people?  Small government?  All of that is Liberalism 101, the first chapter from An Intelligent Person’s Guide to Liberalism.  We’ve long held it dear, and we simply don’t believe you when we hear it from your lips.

As Lynne Featherstone said earlier today on her blog

There is stuff that Cameron’s said which I agree with – as you would expect given that many of the ‘ideas’ he puts forward in today’s Guardian are long-standing Liberal Democrat policies! Fixed-term parliaments, reducing of the power of the executive, cutting the number of MPs, devolving power to councils and empowering individuals. Transparency and accountability – definitely. Shame Cameron has had to be dragged kicking and screaming on these. But – to be fair – at least he is going out there.

Posted in News | Also tagged , , , , , and | 18 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarIain 22nd May - 3:24pm
    In Cheltenham the Tory literature essentially ignored the Lib Dems, focusing on Miliband and Salmond.
  • User Avatarwayne simmons 22nd May - 3:22pm
    A pro-hunting stance during past voting would be a dealbreaker for me, sadly. It's a lot more clear cut, it seems, than Tim's patchy record...
  • User AvatarAdam Bernard 22nd May - 3:13pm
    It's worth remembering the LDV poll on the recent party election for President, and just how far off it was. LDV members are clearly not...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 22nd May - 3:13pm
    Wayne, he has been telling people over the past few days on Twitter that his position is to keep the law as it is. :)...
  • User AvatarHAN 22nd May - 3:03pm
    I'm a huge fan of Norman. However this article kind of shows why I'm not choosing him. Yes he was a fab Minister and I...
  • User Avatarwayne simmons 22nd May - 2:59pm
    Further supported by this list... http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk_politics/1880371.stm
Fri 22nd May 2015
Sat 23rd May 2015
Sun 24th May 2015
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015