Tag Archives: style

Opinion: A Diminished Clarke – a picture of electoral calculation and desperation

What Ken Clarke has been sent out to do (FT.com – requires registration) – and has been willing to do – diminishes him. It can hardly diminish his party.

Ken Clarke is a fervent European but he has been willing to return to the frontline of Tory politics. No doubt he believes he has done a deal…and he has calculated that he can hold back the forces of Euro-scepticism in the Tory party. The gag he is now prepared to wear, on European matters, is a measure of how unsound his judgement has become.

He has a point when he complains …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , , , , and | 1 Comment
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarJohn McHugo 30th May - 11:14am
    There is something unpleasantly demagogic about the right-wing attacks on the Human Rights Act. The demagogue in chief is none other than Michael Gove. One...
  • User AvatarPaul Walter 30th May - 11:09am
    So the most dangerous person in the UK, as far as Putin is concerned, is the MP for Ludlow, Phillip Dunne - number 18 on...
  • User Avatarjedibeeftrix 30th May - 10:50am
    "The Human Rights Act is vital and we must fight to keep it" Don't be absurd, Tim, insomuch as it will be replaced by a...
  • User AvatarJohnTilley 30th May - 10:34am
    "The Human Rights Act is a favourite target of the right wing press. They hate it because it is ‘European' ..." Tim Farron is right...
  • User AvatarTony Dawson 30th May - 10:33am
    David, your argument has some point but it is a little too absolute. One hell of a lot of people who are voting for Labour...
  • User AvatarJohnTilley 30th May - 10:26am
    Charlie You say -- "..In Germany , the education system delivers what the country needs to produce an economy based upon high value manufacturing. "...
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015
Thu 25th Jun 2015
Fri 26th Jun 2015
Sat 27th Jun 2015