Tag Archives: style

Opinion: A Diminished Clarke – a picture of electoral calculation and desperation

What Ken Clarke has been sent out to do (FT.com – requires registration) – and has been willing to do – diminishes him. It can hardly diminish his party.

Ken Clarke is a fervent European but he has been willing to return to the frontline of Tory politics. No doubt he believes he has done a deal…and he has calculated that he can hold back the forces of Euro-scepticism in the Tory party. The gag he is now prepared to wear, on European matters, is a measure of how unsound his judgement has become.

He has a point when he complains …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , , , , and | 1 Comment
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarSammy O'Neill 5th Jul - 2:43am
    @Eddie Yes the claimant pays the appropriate fee when they file the claim, except if they are eligible for fee remission on the grounds of...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 5th Jul - 1:34am
    I'm confused. Do people have to pay fees up front in order to use civil courts? The idea strikes me as hideously right wing, yet...
  • User AvatarConor McGovern 5th Jul - 1:12am
    Geoffrey Payne, judging by history it looks like it might take another 20 or 30 years until Labour back PR then! Later's better than never...
  • User AvatarAndrew 5th Jul - 12:58am
    Phyllis, Actually I thought that there was evidence that amongst the working class, women are increasingly becoming the breadwinners. Girls do better in school, get...
  • User AvatarSammy O'Neill 5th Jul - 12:50am
    The only court fees I currently think are unreasonable are those for employment tribunal claims, which should be dropped as a priority. County Court fees...
  • User AvatarAndrew 5th Jul - 12:48am
    Ruth, I agree entirely - all that talent needs to be used, not wasted. And women should be able to make any of the range...
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015