Tag Archives: substance

Opinion: A Diminished Clarke – a picture of electoral calculation and desperation

What Ken Clarke has been sent out to do (FT.com – requires registration) – and has been willing to do – diminishes him. It can hardly diminish his party.

Ken Clarke is a fervent European but he has been willing to return to the frontline of Tory politics. No doubt he believes he has done a deal…and he has calculated that he can hold back the forces of Euro-scepticism in the Tory party. The gag he is now prepared to wear, on European matters, is a measure of how unsound his judgement has become.

He has a point when he complains …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , , , , and | 1 Comment
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarT-J 26th May - 1:57am
    I have very strong feelings about this. In my opinion, the Commonwealth is the most meaningless of international organisations - if it did not exist,...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 26th May - 1:10am
    No, but I would if I could (no money besides debt). I suppose I need to give myself a renewed focus on sorting it out!...
  • User AvatarAndrew 26th May - 12:45am
    well, what I am doing is comparing today's graduates with previous generations... house price inflation has already made it almost impossible to get on the...
  • User Avatarbenj 26th May - 12:40am
    Fair economic system=fair distribution of the factors of production=aligned incentives=optimal economic efficiency. All the above are one and the same thing. Produced factors should remain...
  • User AvatarCaron Lindsay 26th May - 12:35am
    Have you rejoined, Eddie?
  • User AvatarManfarang 26th May - 12:29am
    "And then what is the point of allowing a vote to British people who’ve gone in their tens of thousands to Spain to live" Many...
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015