Tag Archives: sutton and cheam

Ashcroft’s poll of Lib Dem battleground seats: incumbency is alive and well but 2015 will be a survival election for the party

Tory peer and pollster Lord Ashcroft has published his latest set of constituency findings. He polled some of the key Lib Dem / Tory and Lib Dem / Labour battlegrounds in the summer – he’s now followed that up by looking at a further 22 seats. Of these, 2 are Lib Dem targets, 15 the party is defending against the Tories, and 5 against Labour. You can see the full results here .

Here are the headline findings:

  • Of the 20 Lib Dem-held seats polled, the Lib Dems would retain just 6.
  • The Tories would gain 7 and Labour would gain 4. The other 2 would be a tie (though actually a further 5 are statistical ties within the margin of error).
  • The Lib Dems would win neither of their two targets.
  • Posted in Polls | Also tagged , , , , , , , , and | 37 Comments

    Chris Rennard writes… Marking the great Sutton and Cheam by-election victory with Sir Trevor Jones

    Just over forty years ago, the Liberal Party was on 8.5% in the polls. The chair of the London Young Liberals, Graham Tope, was the party’s candidate for the Sutton and Cheam parliamentary by-election. Few people believed that a Liberal win was possible.  We had come third in 1970, some 17,000 votes behind the Conservatives.

    Some people prominent in the national party were dismissive of the ‘community politics’ campaign that was brought to the by-election by a Liverpool Councillor called Trevor Jones.  Possibly the first ‘Focus’ leaflets outside Liverpool were produced for that by-election promoting the local Liberal campaigning led by …

    Posted in News | Also tagged , , and | 2 Comments
    Advert



    Recent Comments

    • User AvatarPeter Watson 24th May - 12:01pm
      @David-1 "The Party should never have attempted to fight the election while in government" The party very much gave the impression that continuity was its...
    • User Avatargavin grant 24th May - 11:59am
      Hello Ben, Welcome to the Lib Dem family. Over 1,300 people have joined us in the West Country since the election. Yesterday more than 100...
    • User AvatarPhil Rimmer 24th May - 11:59am
      A well written article but, in the end, one that sums up why I won't be voting for Norman Lamb. Far too many people, including...
    • User AvatarJohnTilley 24th May - 11:58am
      Raddiy 24th May '15 - 11:06am You have mis-represented the spirit of the 1945 Liberal Party Manifesto. It is not glorifying nationalism - quite the...
    • User AvatarDavid Evershed 24th May - 11:55am
      Whether Alistair Carmichael remains as an MP or not, he should be expelled from the Liberal Democrats. Lib Dems should set an example of integrity...
    • User AvatarDavid-1 24th May - 11:49am
      The Party should be listening to those who were consistently right during the last five years and not to those who were, as facts have...
    Sun 24th May 2015
    Mon 25th May 2015
    12:05
    Tue 26th May 2015
    Wed 27th May 2015
    Thu 28th May 2015
    Fri 29th May 2015
    19:30
    Sat 30th May 2015
    Sun 31st May 2015
    Mon 1st Jun 2015
    Wed 3rd Jun 2015
    Thu 4th Jun 2015
    Sat 6th Jun 2015
    Wed 10th Jun 2015
    Thu 11th Jun 2015
    19:00
    Fri 12th Jun 2015
    Sat 13th Jun 2015
    Wed 17th Jun 2015
    Thu 18th Jun 2015