Tag Archives: swimming

Sheffield Labour councillor opposes own decision

Sheffield City Hall - Some rights reserved by Welcome to SheffieldAngela Smith, MP for Penistone and Stocksbridge has called on Sheffield City Council not to close Stocksbridge Leisure Centre. Stocksbridge is in the remote rural north of Sheffield and local people will not have the same access to alternatives that others in Sheffield might.

So who is making the proposal to close Stocksbridge Leisure Centre? Well it turns out that the cabinet advisor for leisure on Sheffield City Council is Smith’s husband, one Cllr Steve Wilson.

Might this be a topic to discuss at home before troubling the press?

Posted in News | Also tagged , , and | 12 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarAlistair 26th May - 6:29am
    Eddie, what was wrong with Mers-el-K├ębir in your opinion? It was clearly the right course of action at the time. The French Navy could have...
  • User AvatarDavid-1 26th May - 5:02am
    @jbt: "But does anyone care? The only test here that matters is whether people recognise and value the relationship." If you seriously intend to pursue...
  • User AvatarDavid-1 26th May - 4:52am
    @jbt: "I have no problem with Irish voters. . . we recognise a kinship with them that we do not extend to others!" Have you...
  • User AvatarT-J 26th May - 1:57am
    I have very strong feelings about this. In my opinion, the Commonwealth is the most meaningless of international organisations - if it did not exist,...
  • User AvatarSammy O'Neill 26th May - 1:37am
    I sense, I feel without undue justification, that the Lib Dems risk being portrayed in this upcoming referendum campaign as focusing on the wrong things...
  • User AvatarAndy Hinton 26th May - 1:30am
    Caron: Thanks for responding to my comment, and I'm genuinely heartened to read what you say. It's not that I'm unable to understand the genuine...
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015