Tag Archives: tax evasion

Julian Huppert writes… Clamping down on Tax Dodging

Tax dodging is plain wrong. There can be absolutely no justification for the wealthy not paying what they owe.

More than any other party, we know how important it is to have a fair tax system. Before the last elections, we pledged to lift the income tax threshold to £10,000. We have surpassed this by raising it to £10,600, lifting more than 3 million low earners out of paying income tax altogether.

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged | 12 Comments

LibLink: Vince Cable – We’ll hunt down the tax avoiders

Over on The Guardian website, Vince Cable writes:

Tax avoidance, sham directors, money laundering: the recent Guardian investigation made sobering reading. In the UK we are proud that it is easier and cheaper to set up a company here than just about anywhere in the world. This flexibility is hugely valued by the start-ups and small companies which create a significant proportion of our wealth and jobs, and which are vital to recovery from the latest recession. But this flexibility provides a challenge: how do we stop our system from being abused by people who want to use it to dodge tax or to launder the proceeds of crime?…

Posted in LibLink | Also tagged , and | 4 Comments

Three intriguing opinion poll results that made me go, “Hmm, really?”

Looking through some of YouGov’s recent poll results (as you do on a summer’s evening during the Olympics), a trio of responses struck me as, well, slightly bizarre. See what you think…

Lib Dem voters LEAST LIKELY to think Britain is best at cricket, MOST LIKELY to think we’re best at cycling

This may simply be a reflection that ‘Britain’ does not play cricket. Or perhaps just a subjective viewpoint: after all, England is currently ranked the best test cricket team in the world (though fourth in one-day internationals); while …

Posted in Polls | Also tagged , , , , and | 8 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarDavid Allen 27th May - 4:42pm
    "I wouldn’t be comfortable with lumping someone on living benefits in with someone who committed benefit fraud so why should we make sweeping generalisations about...
  • User AvatarManfarang 27th May - 4:40pm
    Eddie Those on the streets of Brighton have alcohol, drug and mental health issues. They are not there because of immigrants
  • User AvatarAdrian 27th May - 4:39pm
    Couldn't have said it better myself Psi.
  • User AvatarDavid Evans 27th May - 4:37pm
    John, There is no humiliation in finishing sixth or seventh, when standing for your values. The humiliation is with the people nationally who led us...
  • User AvatarJoeBourke 27th May - 4:35pm
    Duncan, "Land Value Tax unquestionably sound in theory and as such backed by a wide range of influential economic commentators; the challenge is to find...
  • User AvatarJohn Dunn 27th May - 4:34pm
    On a point of accuracy, the recognition of scientists and engineers is not limited to Aldes. Ukip policy is to cancel the tuition fees of...
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015