Tag Archives: thames airport

Opinion: The Lib Dems should back Lord Foster’s plans for a new Thames Airport

Imagine if the Lib Dems had been in power in the west of England in the 1830s during the construction of Brunel’s visionary Great West Rail line. 19th century equivalents of ‘Focus’ leaflets (which, on reflection, would probably have looked much the same and have been produced in much the same way) would have dropped through the letterboxes of local residents in affected towns and villages warning them of terrible noise and rural devastation from years of construction activity that would permanently scar their cherished landscape.

Or imagine Lib Dems in opposition in the 1930s, who would have campaigned against those unsightly …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged | 43 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User Avatar(Matt Bristol) 30th Jun - 5:32pm
    So do the leaders of the federal constituents of the party get local vetoes on manifesto commitments in 'their own' manifestoes? And what about that...
  • User AvatarNick Barlow 30th Jun - 5:30pm
    "I just don’t think ordinary members have access to the same advice as the leader" Yes, that's the point - the leadership is often caught...
  • User AvatarGareth Wilson 30th Jun - 5:12pm
    Much as I applaud the majority of Liberal Reform's work I can't agree with this one - its the secrecy of the FPC that's the...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 30th Jun - 5:09pm
    Nick Barlow makes a good point about the marketability of it, but I just don't think ordinary members have access to the same advice as...
  • User AvatarStephen Campbell 30th Jun - 5:07pm
    @TCO: "Choices bring consequences." "Well, perhaps the poor Greeks should have voted in governments prepared to deal with widespread tax evasion." Nice bit of victim...
  • User AvatarMorgan Inwood 30th Jun - 5:06pm
    STV for Local Authority elections will only work when all wards in that Local Authority are up for election at the same time. At the...
Tue 30th Jun 2015
Wed 1st Jul 2015
Thu 2nd Jul 2015
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015