Tag Archives: thames water

LibLink: Simon Hughes – This water tax trickery in the corporate sector is unacceptable

Simon HughesOver in the Observer, Simon Hughes is making his views on tax avoidance perfectly clear.

Every pound lost to tax avoidance, tax planning, tax efficiency, or whatever other euphemism is used, by people who simply don’t want to make their contribution is a pound that cannot be spent on vital services. At a time when we are asking individuals and households to make great financial sacrifices, behaviour of this kind from the corporate sector is simply unacceptable.

Posted in LibLink | Also tagged and | 4 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarStephen Hesketh 23rd May - 8:09am
    Interesting background socio-political analysis from Guy immediately followed by Bill le Breton's excellent comments and (Gareth Epps) links. I will be visiting/revisiting these over the...
  • User AvatarHelen Dudden 23rd May - 7:51am
    A country with history. Things are not easy there at present, again, not an article. I comment on Brussels 11a and the Hague Convention it...
  • User AvatarTCO 23rd May - 7:22am
    @Alex Macfie yes I'm well aware of the Liberal Revival starting in local government. But basing any hopes of national revival on that track is...
  • User AvatarTCO 23rd May - 6:56am
    @Mark Argent that's a very perceptive analysis. There's a seductive line of thought that wishes to "takes us back to the days of Kennedy" when,...
  • User AvatarDavid-1 23rd May - 1:44am
    What truly bothers me is that we have part of the UK government essentially spying on the Scottish government (via the French!), and everyone seems...
  • User AvatarDavid-1 23rd May - 1:33am
    Roland: "It’s a oath of allegiance not some aspirational mumbo jumbo." No, it is. That's exactly what it is. The problem is that you don't...
Sat 23rd May 2015
Sun 24th May 2015
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015