Tag Archives: toby james

UK electoral law is fragmented, convoluted and causing errors

So writes Toby James:

There has recently been a rise in concerns about the quality of elections in the UK and electoral administrators have commonly been blamed for making administrative errors or not planning properly for elections.

The causes of legal fragmentation and complexity are partly devolution. This has created many overlapping frameworks of electoral law, more frequent elections and more combined elections and the lack of consolidation. But it is also that electoral law needs to be consolidated periodically and this has not been done since the 1980s.

Read his piece in full to find out what is being done about that.

Posted in Election law | 1 Comment
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarMatthew Huntbach 28th May - 12:59pm
    Richard Shaw rather than resigning ourselves to saying it’s “off the agenda for a generation” and staying quiet – that kind of attitude gets no...
  • User AvatarGeorge Potter 28th May - 12:54pm
    All the AV referendum tells us is that people voted to choose FPTP over AV. That's not the same as people voting to endorse FPTP...
  • User AvatarAlex H 28th May - 12:53pm
    We should follow the French example ban supermarkets from throwing away food (or fine them if they do) so cut down on waste and with...
  • User AvatarMatthew Huntbach 28th May - 12:53pm
    Simon Foster The coalition was more legitimate than the current Conservative Government elected on a minority vote, but still failed to achieve full legitimacy because...
  • User AvatarJonathan Walls 28th May - 12:52pm
    Note: that second link should be http://www.libdems.org.uk/lder (with '.uk' after the '.org'). And here's to campaigning for electoral reform so that everyone has a voice!
  • User AvatarHelen Tedcastle 28th May - 12:47pm
    Alex Lewis ' ... to deny the individual the right to choose when they die is denying them a basic human right' On this point...
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015
Thu 25th Jun 2015