Tag Archives: trade policy

Fiona Hall writes: EU exit would jeopardise Britain’s global trade

For years Europhobes have been propagating the misconception that Britain has to choose between the EU and the rest of the world.

 However, this ‘choice’ between the EU and the rest of the world is a false choice. Indeed, being part of the EU is the best way to increase Britain’s trade with emerging markets.  As Nick Clegg pointed out in his speech on Europe last week, the EU has free trade agreements in force with 46 countries and negotiations with another 78 countries are currently under way. In addition, the European Parliament last week lent its weight to launching new negotiations with the USA and Japan.

Posted in Europe / International and Op-eds | Also tagged and | 25 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User Avatarpeter tyzack 27th Feb - 11:04am
    I found that whatever I was doing someone (opposition?) would report me.. classic was having a bonfire(quite a big one in fairness) and the fire...
  • User AvatarMoggy 27th Feb - 11:02am
    Slegehammer: useful campaigning tool :)
  • User AvatarRoland 27th Feb - 11:00am
    This really is a non-story! Unless Caron has not presented the full facts. "Councillors were free to offer all sorts of ideas which would benefit...
  • User Avatarpaul barker 27th Feb - 10:59am
    If anyone wants to read some real Labour bashing, can I suggest 2 Labour sites - Labour Uncut with "Labours campaign is a mess. So...
  • User AvatarJayne Mansfield 27th Feb - 10:54am
    I think this is excellent but over time, through reading arguments on here, I have changed my viewpoint. I now think we really need to...
  • User Avatarpaul barker 27th Feb - 10:48am
    Theres an interesting article on "Labour Uncut" on this issue - "A Labour/SNP deal would be a disaster for Britain & Milliband."
Fri 27th Feb 2015
Sat 28th Feb 2015
Sun 1st Mar 2015
Mon 2nd Mar 2015
18:30
Wed 4th Mar 2015
Sat 7th Mar 2015
Sun 8th Mar 2015
Wed 11th Mar 2015
Fri 13th Mar 2015
Sat 14th Mar 2015
Wed 18th Mar 2015