Tag Archives: trade policy

Fiona Hall writes: EU exit would jeopardise Britain’s global trade

For years Europhobes have been propagating the misconception that Britain has to choose between the EU and the rest of the world.

 However, this ‘choice’ between the EU and the rest of the world is a false choice. Indeed, being part of the EU is the best way to increase Britain’s trade with emerging markets.  As Nick Clegg pointed out in his speech on Europe last week, the EU has free trade agreements in force with 46 countries and negotiations with another 78 countries are currently under way. In addition, the European Parliament last week lent its weight to launching new negotiations with the USA and Japan.

Posted in Europe / International and Op-eds | Also tagged and | 25 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarATF 28th May - 10:49am
    @JohnTilley For comparison, on the TV news Nick was third - the broadcast I saw didn't include the SNP or DUP. Not saying this is...
  • User AvatarCaron Lindsay 28th May - 10:48am
    Craig, I'm not sure we have condoned what Alistair did. Certainly I'd say the Scottish Exec weren't entirely chuffed with his actions. However, we felt...
  • User AvatarJames Moore 28th May - 10:42am
    Disgraceful.
  • User AvatarCraig 28th May - 10:40am
    As a new member one of the things that has impressed me is how the party have stood by one of their own. While still...
  • User AvatarAdrian 28th May - 10:28am
    @James Hardy Fair enough. If you can point me to some reading material on what alternatives the Liberal Democrats propose I would appreciate it.
  • User AvatarSimon Horner 28th May - 10:28am
    I think the last time a single party got more than 50% of the vote was in 1900 when the Tories won. The Liberal and...
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015
Thu 25th Jun 2015