Tag Archives: UKBA

Julian Huppert MP writes… Improving on the UK Border Agency

On Monday the Home Affairs Select Committee published yet another damning report of the UK Border Agency. We found that, in addition to the half million undetermined immigration and asylum cases, UKBA were failing to deal with new immigration cases.

It is no wonder that immigration is consistently identified as one of the biggest issues facing the UK if the Agency established by Labour cannot tell us who is in the country, who should be here and who should not.

The backlog started in the 90s, but in response Labour put the whole border control operation at arm’s length. …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged and | 10 Comments

Opinion: We must prevent another immigration “legacy”

Is there an amnesty for illegal immigrants? Keith Vaz seems determined to prove that there is, although so far without success. But the reality behind the bluster is rather more serious.

In 2007 the Home Office ‘found’ (or so the apocryphal tale goes) 500,000 asylum cases which had not been dealt with, ‘lying around’ in a room in the depths of Lunar House, Croydon.  This backlog was termed the ‘legacy’ of unresolved asylum cases.

A new department was set up and given the grisly task of looking at and resolving these cases, some of which had been untouched for over 10 years. …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged | 11 Comments

Opinion: Immigration service must do more to protect human dignity

The UK Border Agency’s recent decision to hire G4S and Serco to deliver the housing scheme for asylum seekers is not only a bad one in its own right. It is symptomatic of the deep inadequacy of an organisation that exists purely to deal with people, but which lacks the same standards and people-focused ethos we expect of other organisations responsible for looking after human beings.

Last week we discovered that asylum seekers in the Midlands have had their doors painted red by the company responsible for housing and accommodating them, G4S. G4S did not think this would be a problem. …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged and | 5 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarSimon McGrath 23rd May - 12:41pm
    Caron - you and others have written about what an awful Party the SNP are.As you put it :"they have a strong authoritarian, illiberal streak...
  • User AvatarAlex Macfie 23rd May - 12:40pm
    @TCO: No-one is saying that local election success is a "sufficient" condition for national success. However, I strongly suspect that it is a "necessary" one....
  • User AvatarMartin 23rd May - 12:39pm
    Ryan Coetze certainly puts his finger an some critical problems. Bill le Breton: a response is certainly deserved. The big question is that of coalition....
  • User AvatarIain 23rd May - 12:30pm
    A fuller version of the article: http://inside-politics.org/2015/05/23/causes-and-implications-of-the-liberal-democrats-2015-election-result/
  • User AvatarSara Scarlett 23rd May - 12:17pm
    "Perhaps the best option is to be comfortable in our own skin as Liberal Democrats and articulate a radical, establishment-busting, responsible, planet-saving, freedom-respecting optimistic message."...
  • User AvatarMartin 23rd May - 12:11pm
    Alex Macfie: Whenever has a Party's position in government not affected its performance in local elections? All governments I have ever known have suffered at...
Sat 23rd May 2015
Sun 24th May 2015
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015