Tag Archives: vaccination

Eric Avebury writes … All Party Group supports vaccination summit in Tanzania

Photo from Gates FoundationLast week, Jim Dobbin MP, Co-Chair of the All Party Parliamentary Group for Child Health and Vaccine Preventable Diseases was in Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania to take part in a global health summit to raise awareness of the challenges entailed in vaccinating children against preventable diseases such as pneumonia, rotavirus, HPV and rubella.

The summit, which was being hosted by the Tanzanian Ministry of Health and coordinated by the GAVI Alliance, saw more than 500 distinguished global health leaders and parliamentarians from developing and donor countries, technical experts, civil society organisations and private sector partners come together to promote the Global Vaccine Action Plan, endorsed at the May 2012 World Health Assembly, and determine what more can be done to meet goals for women’s and children’s health through vaccination programmes.

Posted in News | Also tagged and | 1 Comment

The Independent View: NHS should routinely offer chicken pox vaccine to children

Chicken pox. One of those “mild” childhood illnesses that most of us assume just has to be endured at some point. Sure, it itches like crazy, but what’s the big deal?

That’s how I saw it until two friends of my four-year-old son went down with it in the same month. They described the misery their children went through, the sleepless nights for all the family, the seemingly endless quarantine. And worse: it can put children in hospital, and occasionally even kill them.

As the dreaded varicella zoster virus seemed to creep ever closer to my son’s unprepared immune system, I …

Posted in The Independent View | Also tagged and | 11 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarMartin 30th May - 11:15pm
    Matthew: The tuition fees issue cannot remain where it is, even though opponents and critics seem to think it will. Both Labour and Conservatives will...
  • User AvatarShirley Campbell 30th May - 11:14pm
    Thank you Ashley. I live, in hope, that your voice speaks for many of the silent of my generation and beyond: Ashley 29th May '15...
  • User AvatarNot Who I Say I Am 30th May - 10:43pm
    Martin 30th May '15 - 6:54pm Martin, one of the rules of the LDV site is for contributors to be who they say they are....
  • User AvatarGareth Epps 30th May - 10:40pm
    Did I ever tell you about the band I was briefly in.......?
  • User AvatarDavid Howarth 30th May - 10:14pm
    So you are just a power worshipper then. You don't seem to realise that you are rejecting not just international human rights law but the...
  • User AvatarDavid Cooper 30th May - 10:03pm
    @David Cooper "You believe that might makes right" No. But I believe might, whether right or wrong, so comprehensively trumps international human rights law that...
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015
Thu 25th Jun 2015
Fri 26th Jun 2015
Sat 27th Jun 2015