Tag Archives: vale of white horse

Rather better day at Black Rock… and Vale of White Horse, Brentwood, Sutton…

We keep being told that, where we work, we can win. And it’s still true, no matter how gloomy the opinion polls are, as this week’s by-election results demonstrate.

The Liberal Democrats have gained two seats from the Conservatives in a stunning by-election win in Oxford West & Abingdon constituency. Elizabeth Miles and Val Shaw won on a 17% swing from the Tories in Sunningwell & Wootton ward, and their double victory reduced the Conservative majority on the Vale of White Horse District Council to just three.

Speaking after …

Posted in Local government and News | Also tagged , and | 12 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarDavid Raw 28th Jul - 9:11am
    Does wall to wall Jeremy Kyle programmes on the non-public service TV stations in which often rather inadequate people are encouraged to humiliate themselves by...
  • User AvatarPaul Murray 28th Jul - 8:43am
    @Jayne Mansfield - I do not recognize your perception of elitism. It is a charge often made against opera, for example, by people who have...
  • User AvatarTim13 28th Jul - 8:36am
    Broadly speaking, we have recovered more quickly (in our strong Tory facing areas) from our 2015 - and Clegg period - thrashing, than the Greens...
  • User AvatarCaron Lindsay 28th Jul - 8:31am
    John CN That's a very strange comment given that Lib Dem MPs have always emphasised these issues.
  • User AvatarAndrew McCaig 28th Jul - 7:06am
    Clive, Labour had already lost it to the Greens in reality, who won a by-election there last year..we seem to have squeezed the tory vote...
  • User Avatarclive english 28th Jul - 6:41am
    And the good news continues Totnes (South Hams) is a gain with a 22 per cent increase in the vote, albeit helped by the fact...
Thu 28th Jul 2016
Sat 30th Jul 2016
Mon 1st Aug 2016
Wed 3rd Aug 2016
Sat 6th Aug 2016
Wed 10th Aug 2016
Fri 12th Aug 2016
19:00
Sat 13th Aug 2016
Tue 16th Aug 2016
Thu 18th Aug 2016
Sun 21st Aug 2016