Tag Archives: weltschmertz

Opinion: War on Weltschmerz

A Liberal Youth training sessionWhen friends have lost their belief in religion, they usually describe not the freeing of bonds, but the emptiness left without a moral compass to guide them.

My youngest daughter popped in after work today looking rather sad. When I asked her the problem she described herself as feeling weltschmerz. Never having heard of this before, I got her to elaborate. She told me of the alienation, the resignation and the overwhelming sense of the cruelty of the world. This is not a woman prone to melancholy, …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged | 15 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarPsi 2nd Jul - 5:26pm
    John Bland Just to check, your suggestion is that Germany lends $190.4m at 0% to Greece? If I put the principle aside for a minute,...
  • User AvatarPsi 2nd Jul - 4:56pm
    David Allen “an extension of the loan period does to some extent offer something real to Greece, though it also prolongs the agony. A 30-year...
  • User AvatarJohn Tilley 2nd Jul - 4:52pm
    I have just read this article. I like it. I especially like the sentence -- "..If you do take a notion to care more, the...
  • User AvatarRichard Underhill 2nd Jul - 4:42pm
    Norman, Some more detail on Trident would be helpful. Very large sums of money are planned to be spent over very long periods. Waht Nick...
  • User AvatarRichard Underhill 2nd Jul - 4:38pm
    "It is in neither Britain’s interests nor the world’s to close ourselves off, but also that intervention abroad must be rooted in international law, decided...
  • User AvatarJohn Tilley 2nd Jul - 4:18pm
    Simon Gilbert 2nd Jul '15 - 2:41pm "... some difficult policy areas where there is no liberal mainstream political voice ..." Simon, Could you identify...
Thu 2nd Jul 2015
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015