Tag Archives: william lewis

News International’s William Lewis, BBC’s Robert Peston, and the alleged act of theft which aimed to bring down Vince Cable

Rewind to December 2010, and you will recall the furore which greeted the revelation by the BBC’s Robert Peston that Lib Dem business secretary Vince Cable had been secretly taped by undercover Telegraph hacks “declaring war” on Rupert Murdoch and his bid for BSkyB.

Vince was almost forced to resign, responsibility for handling the bid was handed over to a Murdoch-friendly Tory, and the Telegraph was embarrassed by the implication that they had censored the story in order to avoid assisting media rival News International.

A report in today’s New York Times sheds a new and extraordinary light on that sequence of events, and suggests that:

  • The Telegraph was not sitting on the Cable/BSkyB scoop, but was all set to run it as a follow-up to the paper’s initial story focusing on Vince’s forthright views on the Coalition;
Posted in News | Also tagged , , , , and | 13 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarDavid-1 23rd May - 1:33am
    Roland: "It’s a oath of allegiance not some aspirational mumbo jumbo." No, it is. That's exactly what it is. The problem is that you don't...
  • User AvatarTonyJ 23rd May - 1:01am
    The leak itself is bad. But what is worse is the cover-up. Sturgeon has honed in on this, and (God I hate to say it)...
  • User AvatarHannah Bettsworth 23rd May - 12:35am
    I could have written a 1, 500 word or more essay on this, as I would have loved to explain the whole historical background but...
  • User AvatarPeter Watson 23rd May - 12:35am
    The full memo was published at the time (http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/politics/SNP/11515276/Revealed-Full-text-of-Nicola-Sturgeon-memo.html) The author wrote All of this was given on a confidential basis, so please limit any...
  • User AvatarMark Argent 23rd May - 12:29am
    Interesting distinction between transactional and transformational leadership. The hitch we have at the moment is that a transformational approach under Tim could easily feel like...
  • User AvatarCraig Morrison 23rd May - 12:11am
    I was wondering if anyone could answer a question? I was reading that by leaking the memo Alastair Carmichael had broken Westminster protocol and can't...
Sat 23rd May 2015
Sun 24th May 2015
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015