Tag Archives: william powell

William Powell AM writes… Why we must protect rural banking

Almost every week brings news of the closure of bank branches in rural areas. As an Assembly Member in Wales representing a large rural region, I know at first hand the real effects of bank closures on local communities and businesses. Latest figures from the Campaign for Community Banking Services, published in September, show that in the last ten years just under 2,000 bank branches have closed. There are now 900 communities that have only one bank branch and 1,200 communities with no bank branch at all. The traditional ‘Big 4’ banks closed 178 branches in 2011. Estimates

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , and | 3 Comments

Kirsty Williams AM writes: Getting down to business in Wales

The long running saga of the ‘Welsh Lib Dem two’ has now been resolved but not without some pain. While Aled Roberts was able to re-take his seat as an Assembly Member, it was clear in the National Assembly that John Dixon did not have the same support.

I would like to pay tribute to John Dixon. He has served the public diligently and with distinction on Cardiff Council. He would have been an enormously effective and hard working Assembly Member. He has paid a very high price and I would like to pay tribute to him for the dignity with which he has handled the situation over the past two months.

Aled Roberts too has had a difficult couple of months but he is now back in the Assembly where he belongs and we have wasted no time in getting down to business and I have been able to announce the team that will hold the government to account.

Posted in Wales | Also tagged , , , , , , , , , and | 1 Comment

Q&A with new Lib Dem AM William Powell

Over on the BBC website, William Powell, a newly elected member of the Welsh Assembly, has taken part in a Q&A to introduce some of the new AMs elected in May.

Here’s a sample:

Why stand for the assembly?To be a strong liberal voice for Mid and West Wales, including the old Liberal heartlands in Pembrokeshire and Carmarthenshire

Most frustrating thing about your first week as an AM?Negotiating the maze of corridors in the assembly buildings – no prizes for my orienteering so far

What’s your poison?Whipping Tree Ale, best-selling ale from the Rotter’s micro-brewery in Talgarth

First record you bought?Max Boyce – Live at

Posted in News | Also tagged | 1 Comment
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarMatthew Huntbach 30th May - 9:10pm
    David Even if the Tories turn out to be utter monsters without the lib dems winning these seats back will be harder than simply saying...
  • User AvatarDavid Cooper 30th May - 9:09pm
    @David Howarth "states should just be able to decide for themselves whether to intervene" Isn't that what happens anyway? Its a wicked world. In the...
  • User AvatarSammy O'Neill 30th May - 9:00pm
    @JohnTilley I do not think you, or indeed anyone else is in a position to describe the comments of other people as "not valid". All...
  • User AvatarMatthew Huntbach 30th May - 8:50pm
    David The point was that if that’s your message “vote for us because we’re not x” No, that's not my message. I strongly supported the...
  • User AvatarDavid Howarth 30th May - 8:45pm
    So you think that states should just be able to decide for themselves whether to intervene to prevent human rights abuses in other states without...
  • User AvatarJennie 30th May - 8:38pm
    "The voyeurs until they realised what it meant" *dies laughing* OMG so adorable
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015
Thu 25th Jun 2015
Fri 26th Jun 2015
Sat 27th Jun 2015