Tag Archives: world toilet day

Lord Avebury writes… World Toilet Day and sanitation: an unspoken problem

Today is World Toilet Day and it is important to remember that 2.5 billion people lack access to adequate sanitation. One in three women across the world risks shame, disease, harassment and even attack because they do not have a safe place to go to the toilet. This is unthinkable in the UK, but a reality in the developing world and the impact is devastating. Absence of clean toilets and inadequate sanitation facilities are key causes of diarrhoeal disease, the second largest killer of children worldwide, causing around 760,000 child deaths every year. Diarrhoeal disease is also a contributing factor to malnutrition, which in turn can lead to stunted growth and impede cognitive development.

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , , , , and | Leave a comment
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarMatthew Huntbach 27th May - 2:43pm
    adrian sanders We once said to the other parties don’t pick up the phone unless you are prepared to concede on PR. Dropping this was...
  • User AvatarMichael Beckett 27th May - 2:38pm
    Rural and urban parity of funding bill. Various funding formulas have under costed the effects of rurality on service provision including the NHS. Corrections are...
  • User AvatarMatthew Huntbach 27th May - 2:28pm
    Psi I really hope that is a joke. This myth of the “left wing north & Scotland” and “right wing south” is ridiculous. There were...
  • User AvatarTrevor Stables 27th May - 2:23pm
    I forgot to say...This is not a Party Political Matter and must remain a matter of conscience.
  • User AvatarPsi 27th May - 2:22pm
    Matthew Huntbach “So you just assume they have put work in to get where they have. Are you quite sure that’s always the case for...
  • User AvatarJoshua Dixon 27th May - 2:22pm
    Not backing Norman but I agree with him on this.
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015