That was the day that was… 30 November

“It’s fairly quiet today…”

Alright, that turned out to be as accurate as a Greek government’s balance sheet, didn’t it? Ah well, as we say in the editorial game, you can’t get them all right, can you?

As I write these words, we’re at ninety comments on what was, I felt, a fairly honest appraisal of some fairly rotten by-election results. And, obviously someone beyond those interested in the death/future (delete as appropriate) of the Liberal Democrats was reading it, as I received an unexpected telephone call asking me if I’d go onto a Russian radio show to discuss the results. I wasn’t going to (I’m the editorial team’s determined non-media person…).

But, if the cliche is to be believed, it’s better to be talked about than not. And whilst there’s a breath in my body, I’ll be a Liberal Democrat. So, on that note, good luck, good night, and keep the faith…

* Mark Valladares is the Friday Editor of Liberal Democrat Voice.

Read more by .
This entry was posted in News.
Bookmark the web address for this page or use the short url http://ldv.org.uk/31896 for Twitter and emails.
Advert

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

If you are a member of the party, you can have the Lib Dem Logo appear next to your comments to show this. You must be registered for our forum and can then login on this public site with the same username and password.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

*
*
Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?

Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarPaul Pettinger 2nd Jul - 1:22pm
    For a more nuanced understanding of the former leader's appeal, we should be asking who did and didn't approve of them. If many of those...
  • User AvatarTeena Lashmore 2nd Jul - 1:16pm
    Only a few days to our debate in person! Thx for David Allen's accessible response. Like Sue S detected, I'm merely the messenger. Free market...
  • User AvatarCharlie 2nd Jul - 1:05pm
    Tsar Nicholas There was a mini ice age from about 1650-1850, yet within this period in Btitain ther was a warming from about 1700-1760 ,...
  • User AvatarMatthew Huntbach 2nd Jul - 1:03pm
    Gordon Committees often reach perverse and inconsistent conclusions. I would add that they are particularly poor – quite hopeless in fact – at formulating strategy...
  • User AvatarDavid Howarth 2nd Jul - 12:58pm
    Another note of scepticism: in the published BES daily campaign data, using a scale of 0 to 10 where 0 is strongly dislike and 10...
  • User AvatarMatthew Huntbach 2nd Jul - 12:58pm
    TCO Nearly two and a half million people voted Lib Dem in May. Presumably they voted for the party on the basis that they thought...
Thu 2nd Jul 2015
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015