UNISON still hasn’t properly completed its general election expense return

We reported back in December how UNISON was facing a fine for breaking election law. The trade union had completely failed to submit details of their general election expenditure within the legal deadline.

UNISON has now submitted its spending declaration several months late, but in a quirky twist of the law has not yet been fined by the Electoral Commission – because its return is still missing the signature of the ‘responsible person’. Assuming UNISON manage to get the piece of paper finally signed before 5 May (six months after the 5 November deadline), the fine required by law is £1,000.

Given how often UNISON calls for employers to stick to the letter of the law, its own failure to obey the law is not exactly the union’s finest hour.

UPDATE: In the end, Unison did meet the 5 May date and so was fined £1,000.

Read more by or more about or .
This entry was posted in Election law.
Bookmark the web address for this page or use the short url http://ldv.org.uk/23445 for Twitter and emails.
Advert

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

If you are a member of the party, you can have the Lib Dem Logo appear next to your comments to show this. You must be registered for our forum and can then login on this public site with the same username and password.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

*
*
Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?

Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarPeter Galton 1st Jul - 5:41pm
    Do not think that its going to be easy, we will come back but its going to take some time. Just get out there campaigning....
  • User AvatarPaul Walter 1st Jul - 5:38pm
    Phyllis By "historic error" I meant massive. Perhaps I should have written "monumental". I was seeking to say that I totally understand that it is...
  • User AvatarMartin 1st Jul - 5:38pm
    Kevin Manley: I agree; giving the leader a unilateral right to veto a policy is "a really bad idea". My point is that there needs...
  • User AvatarHelen Tedcastle 1st Jul - 5:29pm
    Thanks for this article Caron. Catherine Bearder MEP is doing superb work tackling the massive issue of wildlife crime and the real possibility in our...
  • User AvatarMatthew Huntbach 1st Jul - 5:19pm
    Norman Lamb (from his Huffington Post article) I want a public sector that is more self-confident and innovative, but ruthlessly focussed on delivering the big-ticket...
  • User AvatarPhyllis 1st Jul - 5:10pm
    "it’s about the culture of the party which I believe is no more sexist than wider society, but should be much less so if we...
Wed 1st Jul 2015
Thu 2nd Jul 2015
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015