Welcome to my day… 1 February

Sea otterYes, it’s Friday once again, and whilst it’s a bit early for ‘Crackerjack’ (cultural reference for our older readers), there is some good news to start the day.

Swiss banks have paid HM Revenue & Customs £342 million in the first tranche of a ground-breaking agreement which will deliver around £5 billion of previously unpaid tax to the UK. Under the agreement between the UK and Switzerland, which came into force on 1 January, people with taxable assets in Switzerland have a choice of authorising their financial institution to disclose the details to HMRC, or having a levy and withholding tax applied by the institution.

Overnight, there have been by-elections in Dudley and Bridgend, so no excitement expected there, I fear. However, if anything does happen, we’ll cover it in the evening round-up.

What can we expect today? Naturally, it wouldn’t be my day without more Europe news. Richard Davis explores proposals for a Europe-wide youth guarantee, whilst there’s more news from Europe and the Parliament. Elsewhere in the world, Charles Beaumont has some sage advice for anyone seeking to discuss the Israel/Palestine issue, whilst there is also news of a meeting of Arab liberals in Brighton in March.

Nick Thornsby gives us the third and final instalment of his series on Party messaging, looking at the notion of a fairer society and, this time, I’ve actually written a Lords preview for next week!

So, do check in from time to time, especially as I’m expecting one last breaking article…

Read more by .
This entry was posted in News.
Bookmark the web address for this page or use the short url http://ldv.org.uk/32965 for Twitter and emails.
Advert

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

If you are a member of the party, you can have the Lib Dem Logo appear next to your comments to show this. You must be registered for our forum and can then login on this public site with the same username and password.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

*
*
Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?

Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarTCO 30th May - 6:05am
    Cohort who went through the grammar system). Look at Labour and conservative MPs of the same age and you'll see the same pattern. The conclusion...
  • User AvatarTCO 30th May - 6:03am
    @Sammy O'Neill "It’s actually quite sad if you take a minute to see how many Lib Dem MP’s went to a comprehensive school." That's more...
  • User AvatarPhilip Rolle 30th May - 1:56am
    I very much agree that far too many agency staff are employed in the public sector is this needs to be tackled. Another thing that...
  • User AvatarJohn Bland 30th May - 1:43am
    I write this first comment as a new member awaiting the paperwork. I joined the party on the party because I am pro European (accepting...
  • User AvatarSammy O'Neill 30th May - 12:48am
    @AWills Due to the massacre at the election the number of privately educated MP's we have has fallen massively of course, but the fact remains...
  • User AvatarGeorge Potter 30th May - 12:41am
    What's not mentioned is that the Palestinians actually withdrew their motion before a vote could be held on it - they are, however, continuing to...
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015
Thu 25th Jun 2015
Fri 26th Jun 2015