West Midlands to get an extra MEP

Back in July we reported how Britain was set to gain an extra Member of the European Parliament following the Lisbon Treaty. The Electoral Commission has now crunched the numbers using the same rules as previously to allocate MEPs to the different Euro-constituencies and it is West Midlands which comes out with an extra MEP.

Technically the government still has formally to accept the Electoral Commission’s recommendation, but in practice the Commission’s recommendation in this field is what will happen.

Read more by or more about or .
This entry was posted in Election law and News.
Bookmark the web address for this page or use the short url http://ldv.org.uk/21798 for Twitter and emails.
Advert

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

If you are a member of the party, you can have the Lib Dem Logo appear next to your comments to show this. You must be registered for our forum and can then login on this public site with the same username and password.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

*
*
Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?

Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarAlistair 27th May - 8:19am
    A bill to prevent rail companies running overcrowded services from limiting space on their services by restricting areas as first class.
  • User Avatarpeter tyzack 27th May - 8:13am
    certainly not a 'broken rudder'.. and if there is 'no confusion in the voter's mind' then only one way it got there. That is our...
  • User AvatarCaron Lindsay 27th May - 8:11am
    How can anyone possibly say with confidence that we would have retained 30-40 seats if Nick hadn't been leader? There is no certainty that would...
  • User AvatarJohnTilley 27th May - 8:01am
    ".... We have confidence that history will be much kinder to him but we’re not there yet." That may be your wish, Caron. Unfortunately for...
  • User AvatarAllan Brame 27th May - 7:57am
    As Tony Benn used to say, it is the issues that matter. Freed from the restraints of coalition, I suspect Nick will articulate a liberal...
  • User AvatarSally Haynes-Preece 27th May - 7:55am
    I have worked in palliative care within a hospice both as a pharmacist and as a complementary therapist.. The hospice movement does amazing things helping...
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015