What does the public think about income inequality?

Here, courtesy of the latest British Social Attitudes survey (published last year) is the answer:

What is notable is that whilst overwhelming numbers agree that “the income gap is too large”, and have consistently said so over the last 20 and more years, two of the possible routes to closing the gap have consistently fallen in popularity, namely using taxes or benefits.

Instead, it is policies such as providing better educational opportunities for the least well off (pupil premium anyone?) which best fit what the public says it wants although, as other evidence shows, the case for education needs to be made and can’t just be assumed by default.

Read more by or more about or .
This entry was posted in News.
Bookmark the web address for this page or use the short url http://ldv.org.uk/25973 for Twitter and emails.
Advert

2 Comments

  • Tony Dawson 29th Nov '11 - 6:57pm

    It seems quite logical that many people do not equate raising benefits with the income equalisation. which they would support Most people think that most other people should work for a living – so raising ‘benefits’ which are equated in most minds with those not working (including those who should be), are not attractive to them. Similarly, a lot of people see that “any tax on the rich is also likely to tax me”. They also do not trust the government to only tax for what is needed. You only have to look at Prescott’s redundant billion pound Fire centres to see why.

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

If you are a member of the party, you can have the Lib Dem Logo appear next to your comments to show this. You must be registered for our forum and can then login on this public site with the same username and password.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

*
*
Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?

Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarRichard Morris 24th May - 9:32am
    The weirdest line is the article is when he suggests that all the decisions made strategically were the best that could be made. Um ....
  • User AvatarTony Rowan-Wicks 24th May - 9:32am
    Can we now forget the 'strategies' which lost around 50 MPs and thousands of other fine party workers over the 5 years - and focus...
  • User AvatarTCO 24th May - 9:23am
    @jenny many on the right of the party will vote for Farron. The available field is not a huge one and were it to have...
  • User AvatarFiona White 24th May - 9:21am
    Thank you for your views, Ryan Coetzee. I do agree that we must reunite and rebuild but that is a strategy most of us could...
  • User AvatarJohnTilley 24th May - 9:21am
    The view from Ham Common seems a lot clearer than the view from Cape Town -- http://aviewfromhamcommon.blogspot.co.uk/2015/05/one-stands-out-for-me-in-ryan-coetzees.html
  • User AvatarTCO 24th May - 9:21am
    Edis Bevan "Since we are moving to OMOV for Federal Conference the special status of FC Reps vanishes." Excellent - if it means what I...
Sun 24th May 2015
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015